temporary shut-in

2002-11-17

I realize this is incredibly selfish and narcissistic, but where are my favorites and why are they not updating?! Don't they know I'm a weekend shut-in?! I'm sitting here in sweatpants pulled down below my buttcrack, and an old baggy t-shirt, and I haven't been out since Friday. You people who are out living your lives, is it too much to ask you to report in and let me live vicariously through you? Thank you cooperate.

I should disclaim that I know at least one of you is dealing with much bigger and more important things right now, and I am not expecting you to entertain me. It's these other lazy people I'm talking about who should update and help a sister out.

Anyway, I'm healing. Yesterday sucked quite a bit because I couldn't stand up straight without pain, so I was shuffling around in Quasimodo fashion, and by bedtime my back muscles were killing me. Today I can stand up (a significant one day evolutionary leap, no?) and can lean back against the sofa and other furniture, so things are looking up. Still can't wear underpants, but frankly that's starting to grow on me. Funny that I not only brought this on myself but also Paid someone to inflict this on me. I really have no right to gripe, but still I do. What's That all about?

I'm reading the best, most scary book ever--Affluenza--have you read it? This book is keeping me awake at night because it's true. It's all true and I'm very worried for the future because I can't imagine Americans voluntarily cutting back on consuming. I really highly recommend this book; this is an important issue that Needs to be considered. I would love to buy and give it to everyone for xmas, but that would be way too ironic, even for me.

St. Louise IMed me on Friday when I wasn't at work. The reason she was able to do this is because Weird Scott turned on my computer to do some kind of upgrade, so she IMed Scott and told him happy birthday, thinking he was me. That cracks me up. Scott is a unique and strange person and it sort of blows my mind that one of my internet friends has now had contact with him. And I can't even explain why that is, but if you knew Scott you'd understand.

Tomorrow I have an all-day workshop to attend in Greensboro (about an hour away), which I totally forgot about, so that's a little fresh hell to look forward to. For one thing I have to ride in a van with my coworkers and my assy boss driving, and I'm not looking forward to it. I was going to drive myself but I can't because our truck has something wrong with the battery and Francisco needs to take it in to be fixed. And he needs the car to take Boy to school and to jumpstart the truck so he can take it in to be fixed. I have to be at work at 7:30 tomorrow, so there's a time conflict as well as a vehicle conflict. I'm not thrilled but I"m trying to be zen about it. I think I'll take earplugs (to drown out the boss's doo-wap music) and a small knitting project to pass the time.

The main reason I mention the workshop I have to go to tomorrow is to stress that I won't be at work. If you are one of my IM (including, of course, MSN) friends and you see me as logged in tomorrow, I'm not really. It would be Scott on my computer again, so exercise caution. He might be funny to IM for a minute or two, but wait until he gets going about his psychic energies. That's when you'll want to kill yourself. He's a nice guy but I've concluded he's one of those people who only talks to others because he likes hearing himself.

Okay, so this entry has sort of derailed, but I'm blaming it on my back. I'm going to take some ibuprofen now and work on laundry. I did nothing productive yesterday, but today I'm better and will work on things that need to be done. I'll be moving slow, but I'll be moving.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify