bad dreams and rumballs

2001-11-27

Wow, I had the oddest dreams last night. First I dreamt I was back in high school and that several students were killing as many other students as they could. [the dream was probably influenced by the foiled New Bedford plot] There were no police showing up to stop the killing, and the school was in a jungle somewhere in the middle of nowhere. The dream involved a lot of running and fighting, and I remember one of the killers chasing me until I realized I couldn't run any more. At that point I turned and fought and I was basically trying to kill the boy before he could kill me. The very intent made me feel sick. I remember slamming his head into the floor repeatedly, with great force, but he didn't die; he just kept coming at me. I also recall part of the dream in which other students were trying to stop the killers through magic or something. They begged me to pierce my finger and mingle my blood with someone else's, and I couldn't see what good that would do, but I did it. I think eventually the killing stopped, and the dream morphed into something else.

Another dream I had was that I was living in a society that was controlled by a cultish group, and at one point the leader of the group became convinced that one of the women in the society was pregnant with a child who would somehow threaten the leader's power. [I know, very Jesus-y] So the leader ordered all pregnant women in the society to be given a forced abortion. During this time I was in a hospital for some reason, and I was not pregnant, but one of the leader's minions saw me. She looked at me, sharply, looked me up and down, and said, "Her!" This meant that she could psychically tell I was carrying the baby in question, and at that moment I knew it was true--that somehow I was pregnant with The Baby. They put me in a room with a whole bunch of other pregnant women, all waiting for their turn to be dragged into an operating room and have their babies aborted. I was sitting on the floor, trying to look nonchalant and unconcerned and Not Pregnant, but the whole time my mind was spinning with the question, "How I am going to escape?" And then I woke up. When I awoke this morning, I had a bizarre sentence stuck in my head, on continuous repeat--"It's scary when you wake up in the middle of the night and the rain's afraid." I have no idea.

My knitting class last night was fun; I enjoyed it. It turned out that the stitch I thought was a knit stitch IS a knit stitch, and the one my old knitting book showed is a twisted knit stitch. I was knitting in this twisted knit stitch last night, thinking it was correct (because the book said it was), and my ribbing wasn't turning out right. I held it out to the instructor (she is about 20 years old, but she knows her knitting) and said, "This looks like it's been chewed by a dog", and she said, "Let me see the way you knit", and then pronounced my knitting to be twisted. She then instructed me to do it the way I used to do it, and all was well. There were only 3 other women in the class, so it was nice and small and friendly, and I'm looking forward to the second part tonight. I think I'm still going to be intimidated by patterns, but at least they're somewhat deconstructed.

I forgot to say yesterday that we tried to make a cheese fondue as an appetizer for our Thanksgiving dinner. We've made cheese fondue several times before, and there has always been a point at which I think the fondue will never come together, but then I keep stirring and it coheres. The same thing happened on Thanksgiving except that I kept stirring and stirring and stirring, and then one of our guests stirred for awhile, and basically that damn fondue never did cohere, even after 30 minutes of stirring. We now have coagulated cheese lump and wine sauce in our fridge. Mmmm�.cheese lump�.

I got my hair cut today, and I was listening to a stylist talk to a customer before it was my turn, and she was talking about how much she dislikes cats, and how she's afraid of them, basically. Once again I was left wondering what there is to be afraid of. I can sort of understand why people dislike cats--they can be very aloof and unfriendly--but why do people Fear them? I have a coworker who is 40 years old and is terrified of cats. How can a fully-grown person be so afraid of cats? I can understand why a small child would be afraid, but a grownup? Crazy.

I'm going to meet Francisco and Boy in a few minutes for dinner. Francisco wants to have dinner out, and since my knitting class is near the restaurant he wants to go to, I'm not going home first. And I'm hungry again today, and again, it feels good.

The newest addition to our office staff is a tech support person. She is very nice but she's one of those socially odd people--you know the ones I mean. The ones who, in conversation, say strange things and then look at you to follow them up somehow. Anyway, today she sent an email to everyone, suggesting a holiday cookie exchange. I dragged my feet on responding to it, because I know that this is the kind of thing I say yes to, and then when it comes down to actually baking the cookies I will curse my stupidity for consenting to it. But then it occurred to me that I could make Rumballs, so I said yes. Rumballs are the easiest cookie ever, and they have a funny name, and they're alcoholic. What's not to like about Rumballs? Well, when I was a kid I didn't like them, but I like them now. I'm actually looking forward to this cookie thing, even though I know I don't really need all the cookies I will end up with. We can take them on our plane trip, since they don't actually feed you on the plane anymore. Word to the wise, my little snickerdoodles--if you're going to fly, pack some food. Francisco was so hungry both days he flew, because it was impossible to buy food in the airport during the paltry 20 minutes he had between planes (since Everyone is trying to buy food and the lines are long), and he hadn't thought to pack anything. When we go to Seattle at Xmas, I am So packing a lunch.

I'm going to wrap this up and go to meet Francisco and Boy, so have a great evening and love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify