robot wanted: must be good listener

2004-11-10

You know how I like to download the free mp3s the musicians give away on purpose? It's not so much because I'm a cheapskate as that I really like the generosity of people giving away their music, though possibly I'm a cheapskate also. But in the past couple of days we've bought a few songs from iTunes and I want to tell you how much I love two songs we've purchased. The first is Swayzak's 'Speak Easy'. If that song was a person, I would kiss it with tongue--it is Highly recommended. The second is Beck's "Where it's At", also eligible for the frenching and highly recommended. They are both SO worth 99 cents; they would, in fact, be a bargain at twice the price. [I love that kind of cheesy saying--can you tell?]

Today I'm wearing my newish grey tweedy skirt, a red sweater, and the unusual snake bracelet my friend, Diana, gave me. I like wearing normal outfits to work, plus some weird accessory--it's kind of my Thing. In the future (when I'm not in this job anymore) I hope to wear much stranger outfits to my place of employ, but in the meantime I have to be content with bizarre accessories. My creepy skull ring is another favorite.

When I was a little kid I apparently demonstrated some psychic ability (I won't go into it, but I made some declarations, on a few different occasions, that turned out to be correct, and there was no way I could've known, since I was only 3 or 4 at the time) and my dad spent time testing me with those little flashcards with symbols on the back. I didn't do very well on the flashcards so there was no further testing, but I wanted to reveal the flashcard thing to you, since it might be a clue to my character. [I wonder if he still has those flashcards; I'd like to give them another go at Xmas.]

I'm going to pimp out a blog I've been reading and enjoying lately, Eric in Scotland. He's from Seattle and is spending a year studying abroad in Aberdeen, which seems great except for when he's cold, hungry, or being punched in the face by strangers. Eric has recently finished a screenplay I would love to see get made into a movie, as it features a nun going undercover as a stripper, and he generally seems like someone I'd like in person, which is not something you can always say about bloggers. I mean, he's the genius behind Nun Clown! If you want to know what that means, you're going to have to click the link. This is what is known as a Teaser.

Yesterday I completely forgot to check on that very creepy doll head auction on eBay--how could I forget something so important?? And now it's gone, probably to someone who will actually make it into a doll instead of putting it in her office at work to unsettle visitors with its eyeless stare and somewhat grimacey open-mouthed smile. This is a travesty, but completely my own fault. I need to be more diligent in the future.

Last night I watched the first The Office bonus episode, but when I tried to watch the second, the computer wouldn't accept it. Francisco wasn't home at the time, but when he got home (from his Tuesday night shootenanny) he fiddled with the computer and downloaded something or other and now the disk will play. By that time it was too late in the evening to watch it, but tonight tonight tonight tonight hot damn tonight I will watch it and laugh. Ricky Gervais is so brilliant as David Brent--he makes me squirm with humiliation sometimes, which I am positive is his goal. He hurts me, frankly, but as long as I keep telling myself it's all fiction, I can get through it.

Amusing Craigslist posting of the day. It's several days old, but I just saw it, so it's new to me. Also, private message to this poster; put the crack pipe Down. I posted something on Craigslist this afternoon, just to see what happens. It's pretty ridiculous, but it's funny to ME, anyway. I think I might have a new hobby*.

Francisco and I walked at lunch and talked about all sorts of things, as is our way. I told him I need a reserve husband that I keep in the closet for when Francisco is worn out from listening to all my schemes and ideas, and he did not object, especially when I said it could just be a robot who listens and says things like, "Wow, that is a GREAT idea!", and does the dishes. So I guess that's another thing to look for on eBay.

I know I've mentioned it before, but I hate being in charge of office publications. I've got a lot of updating to do this afternoon that I just found out about. Joyce! A 32 ounce diet coke, no ice.

Love,
E

* Right. Because what I REALLY need is another hobby. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify