I like the pretty boys

2002-10-14

Catie will be so proud of me--this weekend I bought a pink bra. The best thing about finally finding a really good fitting bra is that I can just go to the store and buy the exact same kind (style and size) without having to try it on, and that, people, is a blessing from the Universe. Saturday we went to the good mall (to see a movie) and while we were there I got two new bras, in pink and in off-white, and it was great not to have to go through that whole trying-on nightmare. Also while we were there we went to Lenscrafters, because the frames on Boy's glasses (purchased from Lenscrafters last January) had the finish coming off of them. Lenscrafters changed out the frames for free, while we waited, and I'm talking about it here to give them kudos for good customer service. This is not something I see a lot [two words] of nowadays.

The movie we went to see was The Transporter, and oh my. If you can suspend disbelief for a couple of hours, you could love this movie; it's one of the best action films I've seen in a long time. The driving sequences are the best, but there's some good fighting too. I really like that Jason Statham. We saw another good movie this weekend, on DVD--Enemy at the Gates. Can I just say, Jude Law is a fantastic actor; he's not just a pretty face. I mean, his face is pretty (could it BE any more perfect?) but he's such a good actor--he can really make you believe his character. I think he would make an excellent Lymond (from the Lymond Chronicles, which I am always pushing), but if someone wanted to cast him as Lymond, they'd need to hurry. He'll be too old for the part any minute now.

Breakfast on Saturday morning with our friends was really fun. Their daughter is 5 now and going through a shy phase, but she sort of warmed up to us and took to saying to me, "What I would like to tell you is...." as a preface for telling me about her pets or her toys or whatnot. It was very cute. Their son is 3 months old so he mostly just slept in his carrier or sat as a doughy lump on his mom or dad's lap. It was just like old times; no real awkwardness at all. They left just before noon, and we were sort of at a loss (or I was, anyway) as to what to do, since we'd already done a lot of our weekend chores on Friday night. I worked some on my sweater this weekend and made some good progress. I also spent time wanting to nap, because I didn't sleep well Friday or Saturday nights. I don't know why.

Oh, our friends told us an interesting story. When they first moved to Salt Lake (for his job), they needed to rent an apartment until their house in NC sold. They were talking to one potential landlord and he was telling them what ideal renters they were. "You're young, educated, with a good income, and you're white." They were stunned. Then the wife said, "Do you mind tenants having pets?" and he said no, so she said, "Good, because we have two goats" [this is a lie]. They were immediately disqualified, as intended. They wouldn't have rented from him even if he'd approved them.

This weekend I saw an ad for a new show, on Oxygen I think, called "Celebrity Health Profile". Apparently they will do stories about celebrities who have had health problems of some kind. Is it just me, or is this silly? I was mocking it, saying, "Celebrity Colonoscopy" and "Celebrity Episiotomy", because the show seems like Too Much Information. The next step in reality programming, I guess. I figure it could be helpful for people having the same health problems as the celebrities in question, but for the rest of us, I'm not sure what the appeal would be.

I'm so lethargic today; I'm out of writing energy. If I can get away with it I will do next to nothing this afternoon at work. I didn't sleep well last night, and I think the cumulative bad sleeping for the past few nights has sucked my creativity.

You just go on about your business now. Nothing to see here.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify