President Powell?

2002-08-15

Did anyone watch that show last night, The Dog House? I didn't, but I saw the last 4 minutes of it, because it was on just before West Wing and I like to get the tv warmed up before West Wing proper. I bring it up because it turns out people are clearly far more stupid than I think they are. When I turned to the show it was just as they were asking the last question: "What is the name of the person who served as both the president and the vice-president of the United States, but who was never elected to either office?" And I knew the answer, or at least I thought I knew the answer and I turned out to be right, but if you didn't watch the show you won't be able to even imagine what the contestant answered. Clear your mind....ready? She said Colin Powell. Colin Powell!! I'm sorry, Colin Powell was president When?? I mean, if she'd even just named someone who had actually been president, that would've been okay, but Colin Powell? Our school systems need a major overhaul. The answer is Gerald Ford, by the way.

In other news, the bathroom at work smells exactly like crayons. I have no idea why, but it's actually kind of pleasant. Brings back memories of simpler times, when coloring inside the lines was my most pressing concern.

Also, I was afflicted with another big headache today, for no good reason. I took two large ibuprofens and washed them down with diet Mt. Dew; this is the headache cocktail. It almost never fails, and it didn't fail me this time. This is good, because I was finding it hard to concentrate. I probably still won't get much done this afternoon, but at least I'll have the ability to get something done if the mood strikes.

I'm extra happy about being off work tomorrow, because Boy is back in school and I will be free to attempt projects that call for uninterrupted quiet. This should be a good weekend, and as usual I can't Wait to sleep in.

Feeling very uninspired right now. I should just not write an entry when I feel like this, but it is happening all too often lately. Eh. Tomorrow will be better (this is my new mantra--can you tell?).

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify