pointy, pointy toilet paper

2002-01-08

I was just in the bathroom at work and I decided that from now on I'm going to lift the seat of the toilet before I leave the bathroom. This will implicate my boss, as he is already notorious for leaving the seat up, and that would please me.

Another bathroom-related thing I thought of when I was in there was how much delight I used to take in folding the toilet paper in public restrooms into that little point, a la hotels, when I was finished with it. Probably the next user of the bathroom and toilet paper was confused as to why the t.p. was folded so nicely, and that gave me much satisfaction.

Did you hear the awful news? Dave Thomas, of Wendy's fame, died today of cancer. He was a really good man, and even though I don't patronize Wendy's much, I feel sad that he's gone now. I called Francisco and proposed that we go to Wendy's tonight for dinner, as our personal family memorial. He agreed at once.

This morning when I was driving to work I was listening to a classic rock station, and a song by Journey came on. I was half chagrined, half pleased to discover that I remembered all the words to it, and I sang along with gusto. Then I giggled, because you know. Journey!

When we were in Seattle, some people who are friends of Francisco's family came to the house to visit, and one of the people was a boy about Boy's age. We'll call this boy Lenny. Lenny is rather young for his age, and though Boy and he tried to play together in the backyard, Boy ended up giving up and coming in, because Lenny's preferred games and etc were too young to interest Boy. One thing Boy said Lenny did was talk a lot in a babyish voice, and once he said to Boy, "What's your favorite dinner? Mine is chili. Mmm�chili�" Boy said that during the "mmm�chili�" part of the statement, Lenny rubbed his chest in a circular fashion, to indicate yumminess. Boy thought it was funny that Lenny rubbed his chest instead of his stomach, so he has adopted that and uses it whenever possible. Another thing that happened while the family friends were visiting was that one of them was a woman in her late 20s, and she was a small person--I estimate she wears a size 6 or so. Well. For such a small person, she sure put away a lot of cookies. When we saw my family in Portland, my mom gave us a large tin of her Xmas goodies, so we put this out when the friends came over and this girl devoured, I swear, no fewer than 15 cookies. Normally I don't notice stuff like that, but I was sitting across from her and couldn't help it. After they left I mentioned it and everyone else said, "I KNOW!" because they had noticed it too. Poor thing, I guess she hadn't eaten in awhile.

In other news, this. Would've been nice to have a little notice, no? In case it was more than just a close call?

The Tetris Update: It turns out that I read my level wrong; it was only Level 6 (not 8), and it didn't matter anyway because after Boy got home from school, he took Tetris out and switched to something else, without saving my game. So I have to start over now, and I was a little annoyed, because it took me a long time to beat Level 5. Kids nowadays.

Lastly, I started reading the best book this morning. I have some books that were due at the library on Saturday, so I need to take them back tonight and I hadn't read this one so I thought I would look at it. After reading only a little bit, I decided it must be renewed, because it's very interesting. I've always wanted to build a house, and I would rather build an environmentally sound house than not. The book has lots of information; I recommend.

Goodnight, and drive safely.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify