run for your life, Bill Phillips!

2002-01-24

I went out at lunch to get gas and a Subway sandwich, and I haven't felt that thwarted in a long time. The gas was no problem, but the closest Subway had no place to park and the lot was a chaotic. I gave up nearly immediately, deciding instead to go to a farther away but generally less busy Subway. Well. The Universe must've sent a quick memo, because other drivers began immediately impeding me at every turn. It took me forever to get there, but it was worth it. I ordered a 6 inch roast beef with double meat, all the veggies, mustard and vinegar. I asked the man to cut it in half for me, and I ate one of the halves awhile ago, for my 3rd tiny meal of the day. It was the best sandwich in the history of sandwiches. Or maybe I'm just really tired of plain meat and bland carbohydrates (see paragraph 3), but whichever, I'm looking forward to eating the other half for my 4th tiny meal, which should take place at about 3:45. On my way back from the Subway, I was again assaulted with the impeding drivers, and also the World's Longest Train. Bastardy Universe, you tried and you failed. I have the sandwich and it's good, and I'm not giving it up without a fight! Especially the part I ate already.

Joleen asked in my guestbook yesterday why I am trying to teach Esther to say "mama" instead of teaching Lucy, and I am going to answer in this entry, because I love to talk about my cats and I want everyone to have to read about them, not just Joleen. I feel they deserve the largest audience possible. The reason I am torturing Esther with "mama" lessons (which by the way are still going nowhere) is because Lucy rarely speaks, while Esther speaks and speaks and speaks. It's my fault, I know, because when she was a kitten I trained her to answer with "meow" whenever I said her name. I mean, one should answer when one is being spoken to. The upshot is that Esther was so rewarded for "meow" at such a young age, that she does it even when she is not being addressed, like, all the time, for example. I tried to train Lucy to answer to her name, but she is her own cat and refused to learn. Whenever I talk to her, she just gives me an intensely curious yet utterly vacuous expression. Esther does the same but throws a "meow" into the mix. I thought if either of the cats could learn to meow, "mama" it would be Esther, but that really hasn't been the case. I haven't given up yet, because as I said to Francisco a couple of days ago, at least it's something to do.

Bill Phillips is the man who came up with the Body for Life program. He developed the weight and aerobic training exercises and also the 6 meals per day diet plan. He came up with the list of "authorized foods", which includes mainly lean meats, low-fat carbs, and vegetables. He did not authorize oils, sauces, or flavors of any kind. He decided that the meat servings should be palm-of-the-hand sized (which is fine with me) and that carb portions should be the size of your fist. I am absolutely going to stick to the program, because I think my body is starting to adjust and that I am building muscle, but people. If I ever meet Bill Phillips in the flesh, I am going to kick him in the fucking neck. No lie.

And now, ladies and gentlemen, for your viewing pleasure, might I present Yul Brynner, as seen in The Magnificent Seven:

It's too bad he's smoking in both pictures, since smoking killed him and all, but he is still very attractive and has that pure animal magnetism. You cannot tell me he doesn't�

Last night The West Wing was a rerun but I loved it anyway. Francisco talked me into getting up later and going power walking with him in the morning instead of going to the gym, so we did that. It was nice to spend the extra time with him, but it's hard to do the 20 minutes of intense exercise at a walk--it's not enough for me to rate it "intense". So I think I'll have to do the gym from now on, but it was a good experiment nonetheless.

No big plans for tonight, and nothing else to discuss today, so have a good one and I'll talk to you later.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify