I'm out there, Jerry, and I'm LOVING it

2002-11-19

#2

I really like Sarah Van Eck. I think she's going to have a great life, because she knows what's important.

The workshop yesterday was a mixed bag. On the one hand it was a really long drive (I was wrong about Greensboro--it was in Winston-Salem; about 30 minutes further, one way), but on the other hand the workshop was covering terribly dry material. I feel I learned a few things, but at some point my brain seized up and tried to make me sleep. I managed to resist, but it was touch and go. We didn't get back until 6:00, so I purposely came in an hour late today. I already work too many extra, unpaid hours at this job (in the spring and summer); the office isn't getting anything extra out of me right now. The drive itself was bearable, and I didn't actually take earplugs (I felt I should suffer equally with my coworkers), but I did take a scarf to work on. Except that I figured out very quickly that it sucked to try and knit under those conditions (cramped and bouncy), so I gave up. For lunch we went to a Mexican restaurant, and I ordered a Taco Loco, which was described as being a flour torilla filled with chicken, vegetables, and topped with sour cream. I thought, okay, that sounds fairly healthy, but when it arrived the flour tortilla was deep fried into a bowl shape and the vegetables were shredded lettuce and a big hunk of underripe tomato. I poured a bunch of salsa on it and ate the contents but left the tortilla. I've never really liked those fried bowl things.

My tattoo started itching today, right on schedule, and has started flaking as well. This is a good thing except that I'd really like to scratch my back and can't. Don't want to mess anything up back there. It doesn't hurt too much anymore, but I'm wearing pants today and it's a little uncomfortable where the pants cover the tattoo. Not too bad though, because they're loose. Still can't wear underpants....is this Too Much Information?

This morning Francisco rousted Boy and I out of bed at 5:00, to watch the meteor shower. Boy and I wanted to be woken up--last night we asked Francisco to wake us up if the sky was clear, so he did, but this morning I was in no mood to get up that early and put on a lot of clothes and go outside. I did, though, and it was worth it. I'd never actually seen a shooting star before, so it was amazing and very cool. But then my neck started hurting from being craned, and I was cold, so I went in. Boy followed and then Francisco, and we all went back to bed. I didn't wake up again until 7:20, which was pretty late, but I didn't care. Boy was really cranky when he was getting ready for school, because I guess he didn't sleep well when he went back to bed, and he tried to put the guilt trip on Francisco for waking him up early. It didn't work. I am a witness to Boy's begging Francisco to wake him up early; he doesn't have a leg to stand on with the guilting.

Last night we ordered pizza and watched The Simpsons and Seinfeld, and then I did chores and laundry, Francisco worked on something, and Boy watched Fear Factor. It was a tame evening, but that's just fine. Tonight will also be tame, and I think Francisco is going to attend the ShootEmUp at the range; he hasn't gone in a few weeks and I think he misses it. He probably won't go next Tuesday, because he will just have gotten back from Toronto. He leaves this Friday morning and will come back Tuesday morning. We'll miss him. While he's gone we'll just do normal things and have the little dinner party Saturday night, which I think will be fun. Just 4 of us, with Boy, and it'll be casual and nice. I like casual, generally, though fancy can be fun too, once in awhile. I'm going to make a sort of casserole thing, plus salad and bread and some kind of vegetable. It's not the way I always cook, but I would rather the whole thing be easy, because why stress? It's only dinner. My friends won't be judging me or wondering why I didn't make something complicated. So that's all I specifically have planned for Francisco's absence, but I'm sure we'll find other things to do. I was dreaming this morning about a project I could do while he's gone, but of course it went away after I was awake. Oh well.

I think that's all I have to report at this time. Have a good night; be safe!

Love,

E

PS Tomorrow is Jen's birthday--everyone run over and give her the lovins. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify