a 30 minute ordeal

2007-10-30

I don't know why it is, but every piece of work I do today is like the hardest thing I've ever done in my life. I just want to go home and get in my bed; is that so much to ask?

Also, I am NOT IN THE MOOD for Halloween tomorrow. I'm committed to dressing in a costume for work, but I'm pretty much going to be what I was for the New Year's party I went to: 70's Throwback Barfly. This means I have to cut my early morning lounging short to do extra hair and makeup stuff, as well as wear an uncomfortable outfit all day. Then it's home to answer the door all evening long and give away candy. Last year I was in the mood and it was a fun day. This year I have terrible rampaging PMS and Francisco is gone to sleepaway police and I'm weary of going to the grocery store and it would be nice to stay in bed all day. Gripe gripe gripe. I know I have a good life, and am going to try hard to remember that tomorrow.

It's gotten cold here--this is just an observation and not a complaint. It's been in the 20s and 30s overnight the past couple of weeks and hasn't been warming up past 60 during the day. I don't mind the cold but it Does make me feel awfully lazy. Yesterday when I was walking home from work I was debating with myself almost the whole way about whether or not I was going to the grocery store. Our list was pretty long so I needed to take the truck to the store rather than walk, and I decided to go through with it even though I didn't feel like it. I went and trudged around putting everything on the list in the cart and got in one of the very long lines and was patient and paid and drove home. Sharky helped me carry in the groceries (not without being asked, but still) and then asked what was for dinner. I told him we were having "chicken" burgers (got some veggie fake chicken burger things) and he asked how long they would take to cook. I told him to read the package and that I wanted to make them in the oven, for maximum deliciousness, at which point he made a noise of despair and said that with the preheating, it was going to be "a 30 minute ordeal". I had to laugh at his word choice. Ordeal??! Next time I'll send HIM to the store at 5:00 pm on a Monday and he'll discover the true meaning of ordeal.

The fake chicken burgers were pretty delicious though. I will buy them again.

I mentioned in my last entry that there would be more house talk in my next entry, but really I'm not sure what else to say. I'm happy to be buying the house we're buying and the features I am most pleased with are (in no particular order): 1) The hardwood floors 2) the kitchen (completely new, including stainless appliances 3) the sun porch 4) the yard 5) finally having an actual guest room 6) the location of Sharky's bedroom (upstairs at the back of the house) 7) there are two lilac bushes in the back yard, by the creek AND 8) the price. This house is such a bargain I can't believe it didn't sell earlier, and have to conclude The Universe was holding it for us. The sellers are almost finished with their cruise and, according to their realtor, will be back in town and will sign the contract on Thursday. We will then commence with all the loan shit and insurance and etc. I took my camera to the house on Saturday, intending to take way too many pictures of the place, but it turns out the 50mm lense is no good for that application. I hadn't thought of that, so I'll have to get pictures at another time.

Photos of the Day:

cross hill

The Great Bird (note how many meats there are in this photo!)

Southern Lights

This morning when I was in the bathroom my brain took note of the sanitary napkin disposal bin and starting suggesting things to put in there to surprise people. Troll doll? Money? Ziploc bag containing an inch of cornstarch, taped to the inside of the lid? Nah, not that last one; somebody would call the police. But surely some amusement could be gotten by putting silly things in those bins, yes? On TOP, mind you.

Still not in the Halloween mood. Feh.

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify