you can call me Rev

2001-11-29

Apologies for not updating yesterday. I actually did try to update, at about 5:15 in the p.m., but there was Diaryland weirdness and I couldn't get the "add" page. So instead I headed over to The Universal Life Church and got myself ordained. I feel it was time well spent.

You know how I mentioned there have been Google searches for 'how to build a catapault' sending people here? Well, yesterday the diary had 4 separate visitors who all arrived at the diary through Google searches for 'how to build a catapault', and now I'm wondering if I should contact the FBI or something. Before 9/11 it wouldn't Even have occurred to me, but now I can't help but speculate on the nefarious purposes for which catapaults could be used. What do you think? Should this concern me? I Really don't want to be Chicken Little about it, but I also don't want to dismiss it if there is cause for concern. Any opinions?

My Tuesday night knitting class was good and I feel I learned a lot from it. I won't talk much about it, because really it's not that interesting unless you're a big knitter, but I wanted to say there was a woman named Inge in the class, and she had what I believe is a German accent. I liked that because when she talked she said "Gott" sometimes. Like, the teacher would ask her a question, and she would say "Umm�Gott, I'm not sure [shoe-uh]". I like German accents. I used to do a German character, someone I called Doctor Hosengo. The character started because there was a gardening product-maybe there still is-called "Hose-N-Go", and I thought it sounded like it could be a German name, if pronounced with a soft S. Alas, Dr. Hosengo has gone the way of another old character of mine that I never did name, but he was a Texas cattle rancher. I tend to do male characters more than female, because it's funnier to me.

Boy does characters too; it's nutty. This morning he was prancing around the kitchen doing his Aged Blues Musician character. That one is actually quite similar sounding to his Grizzled Old Prospector character. He also has another, similar, character who does a lot of reminiscing about the good old days, and how he used to own a Shelby. I didn't even know that was a real car until Francisco enlightened me.

I just read a very entertaining book called "Flyboy Action Figure Comes With Gasmask", by Jim Monroe. I'm not going to try and describe it, because actually I already tried to but it came out so stupid I deleted it. If you frequent the library, you might want to give the book a whirl, because it's a good story and the dialogue is quite amusing. The Reverend Tattoobelly recommends it.

This week one of my favorite authors died. She is Dorothy Dunnett, and she wrote some truly fantastic historical fiction. Not of the bodice-ripper variety, at all. Dorothy Dunnett did years of research for her novels, and they are wonderful. She was in her 70s but she was sharp as a tack--I attended a lecture/book signing of hers last year, and she was amazing. She was not only a world-renowned author, but was also an excellent portrait painter (hired by famous people to immortalize their famous visages). If you're in the mood to read some outstanding fiction, I cannot say enough good things about The Lymond Chronicles. The Game of Kings is the first in that series. It's a six book series, and be warned; they are engrossing. The first book has a lot of historical background in it, to set the stage, so it's a slower read than the others. But. By the time you get to the 3rd book, you will be so hooked you will need to be sure you have the 4th, 5th, and 6th books on hand, so that you can just go from one to the other without having to stop. I made the mistake of not having the 6th book waiting in the wings when I finished the 5th, and when I went to the library to get it, it was not there. I almost had a little breakdown on the spot. I wanted to fall to the floor and roll around and gnash my teeth in frustration. Instead I just went and bought it, and since then I've bought the others. They've been reissued recently, in Quality Paperback. Anyway, I just wanted to acknowledge Dorothy Dunnett's passing and say that she was an astounding person, and may she rest in peace.

I will write more later, for sure (well, unless there is a problem with Diaryland or something). Enjoy the day, chickadees.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify