warning--one gross thing included

2002-07-01

I have little time to update today, so I'm going for a minimalist approach:

1) On Friday night Francisco, in a burst of parental love and generosity, rented "The Legend of Drunken Master" for us to watch, because Boy loves Jackie Chan and has been begging to see this one. I usually like Jackie Chan pretty well, but believe me; Boy's mania to see his movies over and over again has tempered my own feelings for the Chan. Also, he is getting too old to play these young son rolls--it's getting embarrassing.

2) Saturday morning I got up and cuddled with the cats and watched some of an old Cary Grant movie. Francisco watched some of it, as did Boy, and then Francisco headed out to investigate shooting ranges. He is planning to become a member of one but is having a hard time finding a place where the NRA nuts do not predominate. I watched The Two Fat Ladies and then went out, in my pajamas, to do some gardening. I was partly motivated by a love of gardening and partly by the fact that Boy started watching the Jackie Chan movie again. An hour and a half later I came back in, sweaty, and showered. Sat down to drink water and pore over my Southern Living Gardening Book, and decided to plant a fig tree in the back yard. Huge excitement (!), because I love figs and I did not know they would grow well in this area. Francisco came home and he had bought me a gift! Can you imagine the gift? Flowers? Candy? Perfume? No. He bought me a 9 millimeter automatic with an extra clip. It was so romantic. We need to get another safe, because the one we have is at maxiumum capacity with guns and ammo at this point. Francisco wants to teach me to shoot, so I'll know how, and he thought this would be a nice gun for me to learn with. It says "Lady"-something on the side, and he enjoyed that feature of the gun. I think we're going to a range soon, so I'll report back.

3) A little later on Saturday I was on the couch with Boy, and Esther hopped up and started the pre-barf heaves and noises. I did something I had never done before--I caught the barf in my hands. I was unaware that A) this would be a particularly liquidy product and B) that it would do no good to catch it, as a result of A. My gag reflex was activated but fortunately not Too activated. My reason for trying to catch the barf was because I didn't want it to get on the couch, but with the new carpet I also didn't want it to get on the floor. And it was going on one of those two places unless I stuck out my cupped hands like a religious supplicant, so I did, but it did no good. It was disgusting, as is reporting it in my diary--I hope no one got the dry heaves. Sorry.

4) Before Francisco left for the range on Saturday, we had arranged with Boy to take him to a movie at 1:45, but at about 12:30 his blasted friend Tony called and invited him swimming. He clearly wanted to go swimming with his friend rather than a movie with us, so we said fine, and took him to the pool. While he swam we went to TJ Maxx and got a few things; an area rug, a photo album (for the Europe pics), and a shirt for me. I miss TJ Maxx--I need to go back again soon.

5) We were home after TJ Maxx waiting for Boy to be dropped off from swimming, and Tony's mom called and asked if Boy could go to their house for a barbecue, and he could be heard in the background vocalizing his desire for said barbecue. So, even though we had planned to take him out to dinner at a restaurant he really likes, we said okay. We then went to Costco and bought a new tv and vcr. The tv in our bedroom is Really Old and Small, so we bought a new tv for the living room and have put the previous living room tv into the bedroom. Clearly we do not Need a tv in both rooms, but if you have a tv in the bedroom you know how nice it is to get really tired watching tv and then just click the off button and roll over. As opposed, you know, to heaving your ass off the sofa and schlepping to bed. Could we Be any lazier? We bought the vcr because we don't have one in the bedroom and it was pretty cheap and it would be nice to be able to watch movies in there. Have I justified the purchase yet? Let's say yes.

6) I picked Boy up at Tony's at about 8 and rushed him home to pack for camp. It took about an hour, what with having to write his name on all his clothes, but it worked out fine. Afterwards I had him get ready for bed and then I implemented one of the worst ideas I've ever had--to have him sleep in our bed that night. I thought, you know, it would be like a slumber party and would be fun for all of us, since we wouldn't see each other for 4 whole weeks. Five minutes into the so-called "slumber party" I knew it had been a grievous mistake, but I didn't feel I could call it off at that point without hurting Boy's feelings. So Francisco and I spent a miserable night with Boy's thrashing and kicking and slumberous exclamations. Francisco actually spent only part of a miserable night because he left at some point to sleep in Boy's bed, after Boy had thrown an elbow into the back of Francisco's neck and kicked him repeatedly. I wish I had gone with him. That Boy is a total cover hog and he will never, NEVER sleep in our bed again. Not under any circumstances. I have put my foot down.

7) Sunday morning we got up (I was cranky for awhile until I felt less like dogshit than I had when I woke up) and showered and had breakfast and packed last minute things, and we left the house at about 9:30 on the long trip to camp. We had to stop at the WalMart for bungey cords, a flashlight, and film for the camera, and then we were officially on the road. The trip was about 5 1/2 hours, if you count the stop for lunch, and Boy got increasingly manic as the time passed. He kept singing, loudly, and if you knew Boy you would know that his voice has the tendency to cause bleeding from the ear canals, so by the end of the drive we were getting a little frazzled and had to ban the singing. Because about 3 hours of bad singing, of the words "on the road again" (not the whole song, just those 4 words) had reduced us to a couple of raw nerves. We arrived at the camp, which was in the boonies and looked like a nice facility, and got Boy checked in and all that. His cabin counselors showed up (2 of them) and hauled his footlocker to the cabin while we trailed behind. When we arrived at the cabin, a small glut of boys poured out and started buzzing around Boy like they were bees and he was their new queen. They were talking to him and asking him questions and saying "welcome" to him, and I was impressed by their grown-up behavior. I did notice, though, that they were all at least 6 inches shorter than he is so I wondered if he was in with the wrong age group, but I have decided to conclude that they are all short for their age. Boy seemed settled in, so not wanting to prolong the agony, we motioned for him to come outside so we could say goodbye. He came out but when we went to hug him, his eyes darted around frantically and he hissed, "No! They're LOOking! Just go!!" I was facing the cabin and I saw that they were Not looking, so we both hugged him (we would've hugged him anyway, just so you know) and he ran back inside and we walked away, shaking our heads and periodically giggling. And then we drove 4 hours back home (didn't stop for dinner at a restaurant--stopped at a grocery store for sandwiches and fruit. and chips.). Got home at 8 and did some laundry and watched a little television and read a little. We slept on clean sheets last night, and I don't know many things better.

8) This morning I got up and walked on the treadmill, for the first time in weeks. It felt So Good. I cannot believe I have not exercised for so long when it's such a great feeling. I am ridiculous.

9) Francisco took the cats to the vet this morning because somehow their vaccinations didn't line up right this year. They had to have one or two of their vaccinations in March, but there was one that couldn't be given in March and had to wait until end of June. Probably a trick to charge for an extra office visit, but what do I know. I take it from Francisco that the cats were their usual vocal selves, but he said the visit went well and that the cats are healthy. Esther's breathing is better (I forgot to mention, I think, that the vet prescribed a new medication, before we went on vacation, to help with the asthma) but she has put on 4 ounces because the new med makes her want to eat more. And this 4 ounces was gained on lite food, so she must be putting away more than I think she is. The vet is impressed by Esther's breathing improvement so she said the fatness isn't that much of a concern, but did say to keep going with the lite food. Lucy has lost a couple ounces--I thought her belly had less jiggle to it. Lucy released her anal glands again, in her cage this time, but she tracked the stink around the examining room so she got even with the vet again. They sure hate that poor woman.

I'm going home in a few minutes, and I am going to find a project to work on. I've got laundry to deal with but that's an intermittant project, and I want something meatier. I need to take advantage of my relatively empty house, you know. I wonder what the Boy is doing right now. I had written him a letter and left it at camp so he would get mail today, and I hope he is happy.

Okay, when I was typing those words Francisco sent me a picture of Boy at camp. Apparently someone goes around with a digital camera during the day and posts pictures of campers at the camp website so that parents can see proof their children are still alive. He looks good--he and a couple of his cabinmates were suited up to do the climbing wall--and he doesn't look homesick or anything. I'm going to write him another letter tonight to update him on the day's nonevents.

In closing, I have received permission to link to the diary of my sister, Minired, so you should all just rush on over and see her. She's the greatest! I like her diaryname a lot--it totally suits her.

Until tomorrow then,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify