is it just old-fashioned?

2002-10-09

I get so angry when I watch the news lately. This morning a story up for mastication on CNN was about how Saddam Hussein might [gasp!] use chemical and biological weapons if the US attacks Iraq. And I'm thinking DUH! Dubya declares he's going to remove Saddam Hussein from power one way or the other (through bombing him to death if at all possible), so why Wouldn't he use all the weapons at his disposal? I mean, smoke em if you've got em--he's got nothing to lose!! But CNN was presenting this like it should be news to everyone, and I just think the duh factor is way too high for this to be news. Am I wrong?

But here's my question of the day: Does anyone give birth vaginally anymore? Almost all of my friends who have had babies have had to have caesarians, and it makes me wonder. Because all the caesarians have been medically necessary--it's not like they were scheduled for convenience. I started thinking about this yesterday, when my coworker who was annoying me came to tell me her friend had had a baby, and it was C-section because the labor wasn't progressing and it had lasted too long. And I cast my mind back to try and remember who I know has given birth vaginally, and it's only like 3 people. How has the human race survived this long? I'm not griping, I'm just saying. It seems weird.

One of the AtomicFriends made reference today to the popular interview question "Where do you see yourself in 5 years?", and I've been fantasizing about being interviewed ever since. Because next time, I'm going to just be who I am and not try to BS and tell people what I think they want to hear. I was thinking if I got that 5 year question I could say, "Oh, I Love that question! And by love I mean hate, because I do not have specific 5 year goals beyond being happy in my life, and I guess that makes me a less desirable candidate." I probably won't actually say that exact thing (it sounds a wee bit hostile), but I'm going to say that I don't have goals, rather than try to make some up. Why would anyone want to hire a Really ambitious person anyway? They won't be in the job any longer than it takes to move up.

I made an actual attempt with my hair today, and it's looking pretty good (I'm wearing the pretty barrette Francisco bought me last week). I'm also wearing a new long-sleeved shirt (not possible until the weather turned cooler, which is now) and basically I feel rather cute today. This is notable because I've had about 50 bad hair days in a row and have felt like Jabba the Hut, in terms of cuteness. So today is better.

Last night I worked a little on my practice sweater, and I brought it with me today to work on at lunch, except that I didn't. This is clearly going to be quite a project. I managed 3 rows last night before Buffy came on. I had planned to stop watching that, but Boy likes it and it's sort of Our show (since Francisco doesn't like it), and I like having things that only Boy and I do or like, because Boy has so Many things he does just with Francisco. I kept my hand on the remote the whole time, because my friend Diana informed me that last season there were a lot of sexy scenes, and I don't think that stuff is appropriate for Boy yet. So I was ready to change the channel, but it wasn't necessary. I think we're starting to figure out what's going on. And it's fun. It's fun to lay in bed with Boy and watch the show and talk about it and pet Lucy who sneaks onto the bed like a fugitive from justice. It's one of our only Things, and doggone it, we're keeping it. At least until it turns sexy, and then we'll have to switch to something else for a little while.

And of course because no entry would be complete without a cat anecdote, Francisco called me just now to say that Esther is driving him nuts today. She's following him around and meowing and wanting to be let out, and let in, and etc, and he's finding it hard to get a lot done. I advised him to drape the big basket (we have a large basket that was a gift a long time ago) with a throw blanket, leaving one small opening, and show it to her. He did. She's in it and kneading and purring. I think he'll get more work done now. I thought of this because, shit, I'D like to be in that basket with a blanket over it--why wouldn't Esther?

I believe this is all I have time for. West Wing tonight--don't forget! I know Mfoxm will be watching. Just one of the many things I like about him.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify