oh happy day

2002-02-25

Must�stop�eating�cinnamon�Altoids� I just bought them this weekend, and I opened the tin after lunch today, and oh my wax, they are so good. Hot but not too hot, and they burn my throat pleasantly. My breath could not Get more kissably fresh.

Busy weekend. On Saturday I cleaned out the refrigerator, and it took me over an hour. Not to get rid of rancid stuff, because fortunately there wasn't much of that, but to actually clean the inside of the refrigerator itself. It was purely nasty. After that I cleaned the kitchen counters real thoroughly and then mopped the kitchen and bathrooms and vacuumed and dusted and did several loads of laundry. I also made some freak bread, which was not my intention, but that was the outcome. We have a bread maker and I was following our usual whole-wheat recipe, which calls for dry milk. We were out of that, so Francisco suggested I use milk instead of water. This was a mistake. The bread that emerged from the machine is about 3 � inches tall and looks like it rose really high and then collapsed-it has a weird, spongy texture. So note to you, if you have a bread maker, don't substitute milk for water. It no good.

Sunday was my free day, and let me tell you, I don't think I like free days. I always end up over-full and miserable with intestinal distress. This Sunday was the worst so far for misery. I had the bright idea to go out for Indian food, which I love, and I ended up eating too much and my stomach hurt for hours and like Soupstain, I got several two minute warnings. It was altogether unpleasant, and I think I will just have to stick to tiny meals on Sundays as well, because eating bigger meals doesn't work out for me at All anymore. That neck-kicking may be back on after all.

This morning when I was getting ready for work I came across an eye patch (pirate style) that I'd purchased awhile back, and I decided to bring it with me. I put it on outside the back door of the office and then came in, and do you know, no one mentioned it. They just let me say good morning and go on up to my office, with no comment. I have to say, that makes me wonder. Wouldn't you say something if a coworker came in with a black eye patch and no visible parrot? I know I would. Do I pull this kind of crap too often? Hmm.

Huzzah, the Olympics are over! I did enjoy many of the events, but what I enjoy more is looking forward to the West Wing on Wednesday. Buh-ring it!

Oh, hey, here's something unexpected: We (meaning Francisco) had written and mailed a letter to Boy's mom a couple weeks ago, asking if she would give her permission to allow us to adopt Boy. We had really no expectation that she would be amenable to the suggestion, but Francisco called her yesterday (since we hadn't heard from her), and she said that her mother and uncle don't want us to adopt Boy, but that it is okay with her. And I'm thinking, I've never even seen her uncle, and her mother has not once contacted Boy in any way since he came to live with us. Not one phone call, not one card on his birthday or at Christmas--nothing. So why should she care? It's weird, and it's even weirder that Boy's mom says it's okay. I mean, she wanted assurances that we would not cut off contact between her and Boy, and I will give her that assurance because I think it would be to Boy's benefit to be in contact with her. Or, at least it would be to his benefit for us to not cut him off from her--I'm not sure what she can offer him, but I think it would be bad for us to not allow him to try and know her. She also wanted to know who would take care of Boy if something happened to us, and I admit we hadn't thought of that, but offhand I would say Francisco's sister and brother in law. They would be terrific with him, and he really really likes them, and also, we're on deck to take care of their baby if anything happens to them. So that seems reasonable, but of course we'll need to talk to them about it before finalizing plans. We sent a letter to Boy's dad also, but he didn't receive it. We sent it to his drug treatment facility, and he was released before it got to him. Francisco attached it to an email to my mom on Saturday, but we haven't heard from him yet. I think he will give permission, but one never knows.

I wish I had something raucous and interesting to tell from the weekend, but it was pretty quiet and calm. If I think of anything that must be reported, I will write it down so I can remember.

Today I spent several minutes downloading different versions of "Oh Happy Day". I'm not religious, as you know, but I love that song. Marcella Detroit sang it on AbFab's 'The Last Shout', and I think that's my favorite version, but the download is taken directly from the show, so it has dialogue and a laugh track and basically, I don't like that. I was thinking one could make a whole cd of "Oh Happy Day", as sung by different artists, but probably I'm the only one who would enjoy such a thing.

Also, 'Marcella Detroit' is one kickass name.

Signing off now. I hope all y'all have a great rest of the day,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify