super calloused fragile mystic hexed by hallitosis

2002-02-12

Happy Chinese New Year, everyone! I handed out little "Happy Chinese New Year" embossed red envelopes at work, with those gold coin chocolates inside. I'm not normally such a giving person, but it pleases me to celebrate Chinese New Year, particularly when I work with such a cultural elitist. I refer, of course, to my assy boss, who openly proclaims the U.S. as being the greatest society in the world, and is disdainful of all other countries and cultures. I am mad at him in almost every waking moment, and I don't know how to stop being so mad. Yesterday morning when I was getting ready for work, I was feeling upset about having to see the boss, and it suddenly occurred to me that it is ridiculous to get upset about it, because he is never going to change. He is never going to change and I know he is never going to change, so to be mad at him is like being mad at the Great Smokey Mountains. It accomplishes absolutely nothing except giving me a sick stomach, so I want to stop being mad, but I don't know how. Can anyone tell me how? My kingdom for an antidote!

Last Friday was my Great Aunt Ruby's birthday. She is deceased, and has been for 3 years, but I still miss her a lot. She would've been 96 on Friday. I don't have much extended family (or at least, not still living), and Ruby was the one Great Aunt I actually got to know. I had another Great Aunt (her name was Mer) when I was a kid, but she died before I was out of grade school, so I didn't really get to know her, and I wish I had. By all accounts, Mer was a real kick. My grandma died when I was in middle school, and she was always such a nervous person (that's my main impression of her, that she was nervous) that I really don't know who she was beyond that. I know she made the best donuts in the world, but I don't know if she liked music or what her interests were or if she ever laughed much when she was younger. She and my aunt Mer were my babysitters when I was too young to go to school, and were also my after-school babysitters for a few years. They adored me. They doted over me like I was the Long Lost Princess Anastasia. I knew it, even as young as I was, and I appreciated it, but I also took it for granted, the way little kids take everything for granted. What I really wish is that they could be alive again, if only just for awhile. I wish I could have them come to my house so that I could give them gifts and pamper them with food and comforts, and talk to them and find out what they are Really like. Because when I think about them, what I remember are the stories Ruby told me about them, and I remember also how they fed me cream cheese on crackers and gave me endless, patient back massages, and how Mer fought with my dad once when he spanked me. Also, I remember they called my sister "The Baby" until she was, like, seven. They loved all us kids very much, with more generosity than we deserved. Eh, I'm making myself sad.

So, my sister, The Baby, (ha, just kidding) emailed me to say that it's weird I'm doing Body For Life, because she had recently bought the book and read it and decided to do it. She's going to wait until her thesis is finished, so I guess she'll start next week, and I'm excited for her to do it. I know she can do it, because she's amazing. I'm doing really good with BFL, by the way. I haven't been talking about it because it's not that eventful, but I've been doing the 6 days per week of exercise and the 6 meals per day, and I've lost about 5 pounds in my first 3 weeks. I'm also getting much stronger, which I love. It's still not an Easy program, but it's gotten easier to do, as I've gotten used to it, and I actually really like eating the 6 tiny meals instead of 3 bigger ones. I never get that full, logey feeling with the tiny meals. I've enjoyed my one day off per week, except that I feel kind of tired and full on those days, and I don't like that feeling.

Work kind of sucked today, because I'm having to work on a special project and I keep having to go to 2 hour meetings. I had one this afternoon, and I also had a separate 1 hour meeting this morning, and these fachachta meetings are really cutting into my diaryland time. I have to make this update shorter than I wanted to, but I don't have any meetings tomorrow, so I will go for the epic update then.

But one last thing: My cat Lucy is a nudge. If you are sitting and reading, she will be right there, rubbing on you and reaching out to paw you to remind you to pet her. Francisco was reading on Sunday night, in the office upstairs, but he came downstairs to tell us a nutty thing Lucy did. She was being her nudgey self, and he was petting her periodically, and at one point he petted her and then put his hand down on the arm of the chair. She reached out her paw, hooked her claws around his finger, and pulled his hand up. She then rammed her head against his hand, as though to illustrate the concept of "pet me!". She had never done that before, and it was sort of surprising. It made us reevaluate our opinion of how smart she must be. Because our opinion on how smart she is had previously been, not very.

And I'm outta here. Talk to you tomorrow,

Love,

E

PS I'm real. Everything I write here is true, though I do reserve the right to withhold anything that makes me look really bad. Or that could get me arrested. Just so you know. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify