but they're not married...

2002-10-22

I'm starting to worry myself with this lack of sleep thing. This morning I got up, all groggy and disoriented from not sleeping enough, and I had a headache. I went into the kitchen and shook 2 ibuprofen into my hand and then went to get water. When I had water I prepared to swallow the ibuprofen and there were 3 in my hand. Which, you know, wouldn't have injured me, but I really thought I had gotten out 2 pills and it's alarming that I could make that kind of mistake. Last night I had to get up and use the bathroom and I hallucinated; I thought I saw things clinging to the bedroom wall. I don't know what I thought they were at the time, but they looked just like the animated "scrubbing bubbles" from the Lysol tub cleanser commercial. An army of scrubbing bubbles on the bedroom wall. I need to start sleeping more. This morning at 3:30 the timer on the kitchen stove went off. Francisco had messed with it on Sunday evening when he bumped it and it started buzzing, but I have no idea how it got set to go off at 3:30 this morning. It didn't sound like the buzzy timer--it sounded like pressurized air escaping from something; I was a little scared. Francisco and I were both awake for awhile after that incident. I'm starting to think I'll never sleep well ever again. It is depressing.

When I did sleep this morning I dreamt I met Weetabix in some city that North Korea was bombing indiscriminately. In the dream we were at war with N. Korea, and Weetabix was working for the war effort in some capacity. She had a clipboard. I remember in the dream she was wearing pants that were enormous on her, and I told her the 'Operation Hottie' project had really worked because she was downright skinny. We bonded, we became friends, and I was thrilled to be hanging out with such a Diaryland superstar. Recently I've been dreaming a lot about internet people I've never met, and I don't know why that is but I don't mind.

Tomorrow I have to go to a workshop thing that will be So boring. I know it will because this is the 6th time I've gone to it (at this job we go to the workshop once a year). It's over at 3:00 but I know we won't get to go home early--the boss will be there, with his ADHD. Sometimes it's embarrassing to be at workshops with him because he fidgets constantly and whispers to people and basically pays no attention at all. It's like, "Hi I'm Eva. I work for an 6 foot tall 8 year-old". Speaking of him, this morning he brought in Italian chocolates and they were gone by noon. I think he ate at least half of them himself--par for the course. So anyway, I'll be stranded from the interweb for most of the day tomorrow, and I know I'll be getting the equivalent of the DTs, but for computer addiction.

Okay, so as of this afternoon, some of the AtomicFriends have started up with the AIM, and it's pretty fun, though a little chaotic with the messaging. And plus now that I'm sort of talking to them in person, I'm at a loss for entertaining things to say. I'll do my best, but it's like my dream about me being a dufus when meeting Andreas, come to life. They're going to find me out.

Last night I made dinner and worked on my sweater (getting close to being done with the back) and watched Pet Psychic. I don't know why I'm so hooked on that show, I really don't. But I am. Tonight Francisco will do the Shooty Shoot while Boy and I have dinner and watch Buffy. We really love that--who knew demons and vampires could bring us closer together? [sniff!]

Speaking of Boy, Francisco told me something Boy's mom tried to demand, in exchange for her signing the adoption consent. She tried to get Francisco to agree, in a contract, that once a year we will pay for Boy to visit her, or for her to visit him. Can you believe that? I mean, we want him to have a relationship with his mom, for his benefit, but the fact she believes herself entitled to see him AT OUR EXPENSE is ludicrous. Does she think we Owe her something? For the privilege of raising and educating Her Child? She's got some big swinging cojones, let me tell you. Francisco set her straight.

My mom is funny. We were talking on the phone on Friday night and I mentioned the West Wing and Toby's twins. My mom said, "I don't understand how Toby could've gotten her pregnant--they're not married anymore!" And I said, "Ummm....Mom, I don't know how to tell you this, but people can have sex and get pregnant even if they're not married." She laughed, realizing her silliness, and the Boy overheard and now he's mocking her occasionally, out of love. Like, the book Francisco's reading him is a 3 book series, and in the last one the two young characters fall in love, and they do a little kissing. Nothing heavy. And Boy piped up, "Wait. So are they Married?!" He never forgets anything that could come in handy for comedy at a later date. Math, on the other hand, is only temporary cargo. Boy never buys math--he only rents.

I've typed myself into a better mood now. I was rather cranky when I started this entry, in case you couldn't tell.

My baby niece had minor surgery yesterday and it went very well and she didn't even have to spend the night. My sister in law and her spouse were exhausted from the ordeal, but they were [of course] very relieved that it went so well. I've never specifically said that Elsee is my sister in law, but I'm saying it now. I'm shouting it from the rooftops! I hadn't said it before because I didn't know if she'd want me to, but she's signed my guestbook as my sis in law, so I don't think she minds. She is one of The Most entertaining people I know. I'm so looking forward to seeing her at Christmas. And her spouse, and my baby niece who will be a year old next week. Hard to believe she's a year old already, but a lot has happened in the past year.

I'm going home early today (only 15 minutes early, no big deal), so I'll say bye for now and love to all!

E

PS I really want to see the Jackass movie. Really really bad. Over. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify