one thing you mustn't drink

2002-10-11

First Issue: If you happen to own The Bartender's Bible, look up "Alabama Slammer" in the index, turn to that page (in the 200's somewhere) and cross the recipe out. Then write "YUCK" next to it, and add several exclamation points. This is what I did last night and I can't tell you how imperative it is that everyone else do it too. Unless, of course, you happen to enjoy the taste of cheap cherry cough syrup on ice. I was rummaging around in our liquor last night while Francisco and Boy were out getting Chinese food for dinner, and decided to make something I hadn't made before. I found a bottle of amaretto and thought I might as well try something with that. That was my first mistake. Why I didn't make something with the vodka or tequila (regular or almond) or whiskey (3 kinds) or bourbon (2 kinds) or rum (light or dark) or the jenever or the peach schnapps or the midori, or even--Even--the friggin OUZO I cannot say. No. I had to haul out the amaretto, the southern comfort and the sloe gin and mix up the Alabama Slammer. Well never again. It is Crossed. OUT. Yuck!

It's raining today, like it did all night, and it's nice. It wasn't as nice when I was driving to work, but now that I'm in my office and the phone is barely ringing, it's nice. When I was driving to work it was like a Journey. It felt like I was a-goin' to Ory-gone, it was such an arduous commute. But I made it in the pouring rain and it's a good Friday--I brought a bunch of cds, and I'm slacking.

Plus I'm wearing my new shoes--the ones I got a month ago and hadn't worn yet. They remind me of Minnie Mouse, except for the 3 inch heel. So far they're very comfortable.

Our support staff is out today for a retreat, so we're taking turns answering the phones--I was on duty 1-3 pm. I saved some mindless work to do at the front desk, but it turned out the computer there is unbelievably slow, and the screen colors were giving me a headache, so I goofed off. First I worked on a crossword puzzle, and then I snuck some knitting. I knitted during lunch too (while listening to the Hedwig soundtrack and singing along--my office door was closed) and somehow I managed to get an extra 2 stitches onto the needle. I really don't know how I do that; I did it when making the blanket for my niece too. I'll fix it by knitting two together twice, and all will be well, but I really wish I knew how I was magically making new stitches, seemingly out of thin air. Last night I knitted for about 2 hours, and it's going to take a long time to finish this sweater, but I don't mind. The way I'm thinking of it is, I'm going to sit in front of the tv anyway--I might as well be accomplishing something at the same time. Last night I knitted during Survivor and Will and Grace (and actually during the pre-Survivor Will and Grace rerun), so yeah, I shouldn't have been watching that much tv, but sweater progress was made.

Last night our former neighbors called and we arranged for them to come over for breakfast tomorrow morning. We thought about the Dutch Babies, but there are just too many of us--we couldn't make that much Dutch Baby all at once (our friends have 2 kids). We're going with pancakes, I guess, and we'll get some good toppings. We'll grocery shop and clean tonight, and it won't take too long--these are our good friends. We will not be Cleaning To Impress, as is sometimes necessary. I am So looking forward to seeing them.

I can't think of anything else to say, though I know there was something else I wanted to say--it's eluding me right now. Probably not important.

I hope alla y'all have a great weekend,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify