the eGrip 2000

2002-01-09

Here is the story of how I met Dynamiterave. It was many years ago, on a lovely Fall day. Actually I can't remember what time of the year it was, but I'm assuming Fall. I worked in an office at the college he attended, and apparently he'd hit his head that morning, because he decided he wanted to work in our office. He came in to be interviewed and I talked to him, along with a coworker, because we were the bosses of the student workers, so we were the ones who got to hire them. I remember his interview was not very conventional, but the only question I remember with vivid clarity was the one where we asked him what his favorite animal was. Woe unto him, for he said dophin, and we then asked him to imitate a dolphin. He balked a little at first, but we insisted, so he finally belted out a passable dolphin imitation. We hired him, and it worked out great. He did very good work and we not only paid him the big bucks, but we also bought his favorite snacks to keep him happy (he requested wheat thins and peanut butter, as I recall--he did not then have the orange cupcake monkey on his back). Now he's graduated and has a good job and rakes in the money and buys lots of toys for himself, and is an all-around terrific guy. And ladies, he's single�

I ordered myself a new mechanical pencil, because I broke the other two I had (they were cheapo giveaways) by putting in lead that was too big. I got the pencil today and let me tell you, this is Some pencil. It is an Avery eGrip, and I chose it for the following three reasons:

a) It is bright orange

b) It is fat and easy to grip

3) It uses 7 mm lead, and I like writing with big lead

After receiving the pencil, I discovered that I had, in my desk, an orange pen of the same hue (cheapo giveaway) and an orange highlighter (cheapo giveaway), so now they are all on display on top of my desk, and it is a theme. I'm loving me the orange lately.

Have I ever mentioned how much I adore the Weekly World News? I buy it about once a year, when I can't resist, but most of the time I just enjoy the headlines while in the checkout line. Yesterday I saw this headline:

Ventroloquist Dies But His Dummy is Still Talking. Read What He Has To Say!

That is Such a crackup.

Earlier today the diary had a Google search that I was so excited about. It was for the same old, same old "bodybuilders in heat", BUT the host was from an army.mil destination. Or whatever--I'm not down with the computer lingo. Basically someone who is in the army was looking for "bodybuilders in heat", and I know that could be a woman, but I prefer to think it wasn't. I won't ask, I won't tell.

Last night we got our dinner from Wendy's, as planned because of poor Dave Thomas's passing, and I have to say, for a fast food burger, that Bacon Double Cheeseburger was pretty damn good. I didn't get fries because I was being virtuous (yeah right--if I wanted to be Actually virtuous I would've gotten something healthier than a burger), and as we brought the food home I was able to make myself a salad in lieu of fries. With lite blue cheese dressing, a sprinkling of pine nuts, and a load of Bacos. Say what you will about Bacos, but they are Great with blue cheese dressing. And they're soy, so not nearly as fatty as real bacon. Mmm�bacon�

Also last night, I got my stuff ready for the gym and got myself ready for bed, and was done with these things by 9 pm. After tucking Boy in (recently he's been enjoying having us tuck the covers all around him so that he looks like a big burrito), I thought there would be no harm in challenging Francisco to a game of Tetris. The game of Tetris turned into a series of games that lasted over an hour, and plus the laying awake I did afterwards, I did Not get enough sleep. My alarm went off at 5 am and at first I was going to go back to sleep, but after ten minutes of mental debate I decided to just get my ass up and go to the gym. I did a recumbent bike and that was all, because that was all I had time for due to my delayed arrival. I'm aggravated that it's January, because the gym had about 3x as many people this morning than previously--all the people who have made their resolutions. I hope they will all either fall off the bandwagon or start going to the gym later in the day, because I no like-uh that kind of morning gym crowd.

When I got back home I drank a cup o'coffee and had breakfast, and then I wanted more coffee. I made another pot (Francisco hogged most of the first pot), and wouldn't ya know it; I totally forgot to fill my travel mug to take to work, which was my evil plan. I got all the way to the door of my office before I remembered. My sorrow was palpable.

Francisco came over during my lunch hour and we went to the arty library and looked at books of Native American art (him) and Asian art (me) for our next tattoos. I didn't find anything overly compelling, so I will keep searching. Francisco basically knows what he wants-he's going to get a Native NW style raven, but he'll probably have to have it drawn, so he's looking for pictures containing desired components of the drawing. I'm leaning toward a peacock, a phoenix, or maybe a dragon, but the field is still pretty open.

Tonight is West Wing night, and contrary to what you might think, not Every night has a corresponding television show title. There is West Wing night and Survivor night (and the Survivor conclusion is tomorrow, so only Survivor night for one more night), and Good TV night (Sunday, for the whole King of the Hill/Simpsons/Malcolm in the Middle thing). For a few weeks, starting a couple months ago, Monday nights were AbFab night, but the new episodes are over so we're done with that now. So to sum up: After tomorrow night there will be two nights per week that are prized for television. 1) West Wing Night, and 2) Good TV Night. I hope you've been taking notes, because this will be on the final exam.

I'm going to go write a few things with my new pencil. Talk to you tomorrow,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify