I coldstep to you with a fresh pack of gum

2004-12-08

It takes the littlest thing to put me in a good mood--I'm lucky that way. This morning when I was driving to work, I was listening to my second favorite radio station, and the DJ played Beck's 'Debra'. I hadn't heard that song before, and it cracked. me. up. I mean, LOOK at these lyrics:

"I met you at JC Penney
I think your nametag said "Jenny"
I coldstep to you with a fresh pack of gum
Somehow i knew you were lookin' for some
Like a fruit that's ripe for a pickin'
I wouldn't do you like that Zankou Chicken
'Cos only you've got a thing
That i just got to get with
I just got to get with you
And you know what we're gonna do

I wanna get with you
And your sister
I think her name's Debra"

There's more but I won't burden you with further lyrics. Suffice it to say, I was Chortling on my way to work, and that is always a good thing. If you haven't heard the song, I should also mention that it was sung entirely in falsetto. Basically I think it was mocking the boy bands, and very effectively, let me tell you. Hilarious.

Another musical thing, yesterday I tripped across Apocalyptica on the interweb (where I now learn 99.98% of everything I learn in a day), and spent several hours trolling around looking for all things them. Because cello rock is an excellent concept, and also, they ROCK. Hello, new musical obsession--how YOU doin? I purchased a couple of their songs from iTunes last night, but unfortunately iTunes has only one of their albums, and it's not Cult, which, based on what I've been reading, would be a great album to have. Could it be I will actually have to buy music in cd form? How odd.

One last music-related thing, if I may. I'm not sure how this has happened, but right now I am finding Ville Valo of H.I.M. to be about the hottest thing I've ever seen. I know he's not everyone's cup o'tea, but seriously, it should be a crime to look this HOT. That is all.

We went to the gym this morning to lift weights, and when we got back, of course Toby was waiting for us. I petted him while Francisco unlocked the door, and then before we could stop him, he darted on in. But what he and we didn't know was that Esther was sitting on the other side of the door, so when he darted in, he came within brushing distance of her, and they even sort of sniffed noses. He only went a little way past her before turning around and going back out, but Esther was left sitting there with Such a stunned expression on her little cat face. It was almost as though she was asking herself, "Did that really happen?" Poor thing. At least there wasn't a rumble, which is what I was afraid was going to happen when I saw him walk right past her. Toby bit me last night when I was petting him after work, and I think it was kind of a love bite, because though it hurt, it didn't actually break the skin. It seemed like one of those "I love you I love you I love you YOU'RE PISSING ME OFF" mood switches some cats seem to have, so I wasn't offended, but I'll be more cautious of him in the future.

This story is amazing. Can you believe that? I cannot imagine. Atomic sounded the alarm about this, and I'm just passing the amazement on to you, my friends.

I guess that's about all I have to report for now, except I'm getting my hair cut tomorrow so I need to select another small coat from Boy's action figure garments to take to the salon and hang on one of the little hooks. I might as well, right? They already think I'm nuts, so no further harm will be done with Another small coat. I'm looking forward to it.

Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify