here's to good friends; tonight is kinda special

2002-11-21

Did anyone email me yesterday at [email protected]? Because I got an email at work saying a message forwarded to me from [email protected] was bounced back, but I didn't get the message. If you emailed me, email again, to my hotmail account (click Email).

I've been thinking a lot lately (due to Affluenza) about the stuff we have, and Francisco and I were talking yesterday and concluded that really, we've reached the point of diminishing returns. We have everything we need to be comfortable--a comfy house (not big, so not a lot of cleaning), two reliable vehicles, and the necessary furniture. So, say we moved and bought a bigger house--what would be the point? It would cost more and we'd need more furniture, and we'd have to heat/cool it, and clean it, and it wouldn't be as good to live in as our current house. Diminishing returns. Same with fancy cars--they'd cost more and probably get worse gas mileage, so they wouldn't be as nice to have. I know some of my superstitious friends would tell me not to say this, but I feel very content. I can't imagine life getting any better, except, of course, for getting a different job. That could absolutely be better.

Francisco and I went to lunch today, and we had Indian food; one of my favorites. It was good, but it was Really good to have lunch with Francisco, especially because he's leaving tomorrow morning for Toronto. He'll get back Tuesday, but in the meantime I will Miss him. I have some projects in mind that will keep me busy, plus friends are coming over on Saturday night, so I'm sure the time will pass quickly enough. But I always miss him when he goes someplace. I always stay on my side of the bed at night, too. As do the cats. Francisco is probably packing right now, and probably one of the cats is sitting in his suitcase. They really seem to love sitting in the suitcases, but maybe it's just a desperate plea for him not to leave. That makes it seem pretty pathetic.

Speaking of the cats [hmmm, I think I just heard a collective groan...], Esther and I have been cuddling in the mornings. Francisco and I get up, make coffee, feed the cats, and then sit down to watch news for a little while. It's during the news portion of the morning that Esther has been getting on me and cuddling. I really enjoy the cuddle, a lot, but I never want to get up and take a shower. She's way too cute to disturb, and she makes a handy excuse for staying put. Have I mentioned I'm always late for work? I make it up by either working through lunch or working late, so the employer gets its pound of flesh, but it would be better if I could just freakin get to work on time, no?

West Wing was good last night, but a bit confusing in places. We still enjoyed it, and the Boy still fell asleep halfway through. Francisco heaved him up to carry him upstairs and Boy protested, in this extremely groggy and confused way, that he wasn't asleep, and we just laughed at him and up he went. Watched South Park after West Wing, and I love that show. Those South Park guys are like little kids, seeing what they can get away with. And clearly it's a LOT.

You know, work is really getting in the way of my IMing. Just today I had to ignore my IM friends for several minutes, repeatedly, because--get this--my coworkers and my boss were talking to me. Can you believe that crap? And sometimes people were even calling me on the phone. Don't they know I'm busy talking to people I actually like? People can be so thoughtless.

And with That, I leave you. I've been working on this entry all day, off and on (mostly off), hoping inspiration might strike, but alas. Maybe tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify