the notebook is in La Jolla

2002-01-14

Do you remember when the rabbit bit Jimmy Carter? Because The Pretzel has that beat. People, I don't mean to be ugly, but it does not comfort me to have an inadequate chewer leading our country. Enough said.

I found my skull ring this weekend! It was on one of the kitchen chairs, and I guess I probably put it on the kitchen table and one of the cats got frisky and knocked it off, onto the chair. I'm so happy to have it back, and I'm even happier because I didn't have to dig around in the vacuum cleaner bag. That was going to be a very sneezy chore.

On Saturday night, Francisco and I finally found out why our tattooist closed his studio. We had been wondering if he was in jail, or dead, or had moved from the area, but Saturday night we were told that he closed the studio in favor of selling antique toys. This made perfect sense, because he always had shitloads of old bendy toys in his studio, and I know he really liked collecting them. The person who imparted this intelligence to us is named Glenn, and he is officially our new tattooist. He operates Glenn's Tattoo, Inc., in Carrboro, NC, and he hasn't actually tattooed us yet, but his portfolio is impressive, so he is the chosen one. We happened to visit his studio after trying to see The Royal Tenenbaums and it sold out while we were in line. At a loss for something to do and not wanting to go home early, wasting valuable babysitting time, we decided to make a tour of several local tattoo studios that we'd seen but not visited. And Glenn is the winner. I like his name; it is very sincere. I have decided that I want a Chinese dragon that comes over my left shoulder, and I want it to be a full-face dragon, not in profile like most tattooed dragons. This is mainly because I want it to look as fierce as possible, like it is poised for attack. I found some dragon faces that are looking straight and not to one side, so now I just need the approximate body and I'll be set. Glenn can probably draw a body for me if I don't find the right one. Francisco is going to get a raven right near his left shoulder blade, in the NW Native American style, and he's going to wait until the end of the month. Personally I think I'll try for a week from this Friday. I'll take most of the day off and get my tattoo when the studio opens at noon. That way Glenn will be fresh and I'll have the rest of Friday and the weekend to heal.

In other weekend news, I did the cleaning and laundry I planned to do, and watched 3 episodes of Trading Spaces on Sunday. I hadn't seen any of the episodes and I wasn't sure how that worked out. I knew I wouldn't have seen the one at noon, because that one is replayed from the night before, but when did I miss the other two episodes? Anyway, they were good. Saturday I says to Francisco, I says, "Francisco," I says, "We could put a shelf in the living room, like the one in the kitchen, and we could put books and stuff on it and that would get a lot of things off the bookcase." Francisco agreed, and 24 hours later, the shelf was up. We put the nicer books from the bookshelf onto the new shelf, and made a book pile to go to the used bookstore and a pile to go on the yet-to-be-constructed built-ins in the upstairs hallway, and put the bookshelf in the kitchen. It now holds cookbooks and kitchen things. We also rearranged the living room yesterday, and it is way better. Our treadmill has been shipped already, so we needed to make room for it, and besides, it's nice to change stuff around.

Yesterday I also heard the most hysterical segment on This American Life (NPR). It concerned a phone message that burned through the Columbia University voice mail system like wildfire, back in the early 90s. I was listening to it in the car, when I went to do an errand, and the errand ended up taking a long time because I didn't want to get out of the car once I reached my destination. I sat in the car until the segment was over and then I could leave the car to perform the errand proper. I probably looked like a total fool, because I was laughing so hard. Did anyone else hear it? I cannot say enough good things about This American Life.

Okay. Francisco just now called me and said I returned the video we rented on Friday night (Chocolat--I liked it) to the wrong video store. That's the second time I've done that and I feel very foolish. Crap. Now I have to go on my way home and pick up the video from the one place and take it to the other place, and both places will see me and know how dumb I am. I am not pleased.

I hope you had a great weekend. Talk to you tomorrow,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify