next week she's going to talk to an alligator

2002-10-01

#2

I'm not Nearly as cranky anymore. During my lunch hour I shut my door and turned on some music and danced. There's nothing like a little surreptitious dancing to make a girl feel better.

Did anyone watch Pet Psychic last night? Because I did, and as one of the AtomicFriends says, "shame is for the weak". Mock or feel superior if you must, but the show is entertaining. I really love animals, so to see them being "spoken" with and interpreted is fun for me, especially the more exotic animals, like last night's pig and 2 alpacas. I would really love to have the Pet Psychic come and listen to my Lucy's gripes (if she is Really able to listen to animals, something of which I am not convinced), because I adore Lucy and I know she adores me right back, but she doesn't trust me; I can tell. She has never trusted us, despite the fact that we have never once tried to kill her. You'd think 9 years of not killing her would give her some sort of confidence in us, but no. She will let us pet her and love her, but if any of us walks too quickly through a room, she will flee immediately, seemingly for her very life. Silly tit. If 1) the Pet Psychic is actually able to communicate with animals and 2) she came to my house, I imagine Lucy would tell her that Esther is too pushy and jealous, and Esther would tell her she wants canned food more often. Last night Esther did something she's never done before--she displaced Lucy on the bed. Lucy always lays between me and Francisco, but right smack up against me, and Esther always lays at my feet. Last night Esther took Lucy's place when Lucy was off somewhere (probably barfing on a hard-to-reach portion of the carpet), and Lucy was forced to take Esther's place. I do not approve. Esther demands (and gets) more attention than Lucy during the day, especially since Lucy spends several hours under the bed daily, so I think she should let Lucy have her place on the bed. I will try to communicate this with her this evening; wish me luck. She'll probably play innocent and give me the old "meow" defense. If only I had a nickel for every time I've gotten the Meow Defense...*

I'll bet you dog people would've appreciated a warning, yes? It's okay; I'm done now.

Actually, otherwise I don't have much to talk about. Francisco and I got up early and took a walk--the weather was so cool and nice. Last night I talked to my friend, Isabel, and as usual her kids were chirping frantically in the background. I think that's pretty funny, especially when the youngest is singing. They revolve around Isabel like moons around a planet, particularly when she's on the phone. It annoys Isabel, but it cracks me up. I talked to the oldest, who is almost 6, and bored her with my talk about Halloween. I was asking her what she wanted to be and she said a cat, so I suggested she take a ball of yarn with her and pretend to play with it (I wasn't really sincere in this suggestion, btw), and there was a silence on her end, and then she abruptly said "bye". Isabel said her eyes glazed over while I was talking. I know it's hard to believe, but apparently I am not always interesting and amusing.

[AHEM!]

So, I think I'll go now and try to get some work done. I'm glad my boss doesn't know that I can squeeze an entire day's worth of work into the last half hour...

Love,

E

*No, seriously--I would be totally filthy rich!! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify