lub dub

2008-07-21

The weekend was a whirlwind of fun things, like seeing family and attending Frannie's birthday party (fun!) and going to the theater to see The Dark Knight (we almost never see movies in the theater anymore). We did other stuff too, but I can't remember what. Most of the time I don't think the weekend is long enough, but this weekend felt extra short and I was so upset when 5:00 p.m. rolled around yesterday and it was time for Francisco to go back to sleepaway police. I wanted to sob piteously but managed not to, because I didn't want him to feel guilty for doing something he Has to do; that would be unfair. If I hadn't been so dog tired I'm sure I would've been much braver about him going, but I hadn't slept well or long enough for the previous 3 nights, and lack of sleep doesn't promote mental health, as you know. So far I have survived the separation and I managed to sleep quite well last night, and therefore feel much much better today.

The main reason I haven't been sleeping well is I had a doctor's appointment this morning that I was anxious about. It was just my annual exam but I had some concerns to bring up, and I'm always afraid doctors will think I'm a hypochondriac if I tell them I'm worried about something. My biggest concern is about my heart, and I won't go into WHY (lest you make fun of me behind my back), but because my doctor is super great and fantastic and all that, he didn't poo-poo my concerns. He said he didn't think I had anything to worry about, but that to put both our minds at ease he wanted to schedule me for a treadmill stress test. This makes me feel much better. See, I've been wanting to start exercising really strenuously, but because I've had this low-level concern about maybe having heart disease and dropping dead in the middle of a strenuous workout, my exercise has been only moderately strenuous. After the stress test reveals my heart to be healthy and alla that (the appointment is on July 31), I'll be able to really push it without concern. I'm so excited to get confirmation that I have nothing to worry about, because I've been kind of worried for awhile. It's okay if you make fun of me behind my back, I don't mind.

Oh, and I'm also scheduled for a mammogram on Thursday afternoon, as I am 40 (which I may have mentioned here, once or twice) and my doctor advises yearly mammograms for women over 40. He said since it is a screening mammogram, rather than diagnostic, it shouldn't be as horrible as the ones I've had in the past. I hope he's right. Now I just need to find out if my mom's colon polyps were cancerous so I know how soon I'll have to start with the tests involving tiny cameras shoved up my bum. Whee!

I'm going to work an extra hour tonight, though it goes against every principle I hold dear, in order to try and burn through some files. With Francisco gone to police camp, there's no real reason to get home as early as possible, so I might as well try to be a dedicated employee for once in my life. It probably will not kill me. Talk to you later!

Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify