the puppy I love

2002-09-18

Our neighbors, the vegans, just got a puppy, and I'm in love. The puppy is a mix of a Lab (golden I think) and a German shepherd. He is so, So tiny and his little muzzle is dark like a German shepherd. He loves everybody and he has the puppy breath. Last night one of the kids came to the door for Boy and she was holding the puppy, so I asked if I could introduce the puppy to Esther. I held him and approached her and she looked curious and got up and walked over to us. I held him so they could sniff each other, but I was ready to yank him back because I didn't know how she'd react. She's never seen a puppy before. She sniffed him with polite interest and watched him, but not in a scared way. I was very surprised. I think the reason she didn't freak out is because she didn't know what he was. If I'd put him down and let him walk around I think she would've been hissing and growling like crazy, but probably because I was holding him she thought he was a little person. Maybe I can introduce him to Lucy soon; I'll hold him and maybe she'll be tricked too.

Lora signed my guestbook to say she made the Dutch Baby last night and liked it. Yay!! I tend to be a little overly fervent about the things I like and I push them on others, and I know I did that with the Dutch Baby, but it's only because it's so yummy and also because the name Dutch Baby is inherently funny. It just is--say it out loud if you don't believe me. Another person I know says she makes the Dutch Babies but she calls them oven pancakes. Which is a fine name also, but I'm going to have to stick with the D.B. Elsee says she wrote down the recipe, and I would urge her publicly to make it sometime for her mom, because that's what the old woman always ordered at the Pancake Chef. Per Francisco. Cryptic, I know, but I love Elsee and you should read her. That is all.

I need to talk about James Spader for a moment. Last night Oxygen showed a movie with him in it, called White Palace. Not a great, fantastic movie, but not bad either. He played a young (late 20's) guy from a privileged background who meets an older woman and falls for her. Susan Sarandon was the lucky, lucky older woman. Anyway, I saw much of the last hour of this movie, and I forgot how beautiful he was when he was young.

Look at him. Now look at his lower lip. This is The Lip I love. The middle indented lower lip (on anyone) drives me nuts; I want to bite it. I wanted to bite James Spader last night and I wouldn't have stopped with his lip. Francisco wasn't home (Tuesday night shoot 'em up) but I confessed my James Spader lust to him this morning and he wasn't bothered. We both have our little celebrity crushes. Ask him about Jeri Ryan--go on, ask him. Or actually just take my word for it, since you can't really ask him. It's the bosoms that get to him.

Work is aggravating enough lately that I think I'll have to adopt a new policy, effective immediately, of doing all my diary reading from home. We have the high speed internet, so not a problem. It's going to annoy me to not allow myself the distraction of diaries at work, and clearly I'm already wasting time writing entries from work, but I do most of it on my lunch hour anyway. Fascinating, isn't it.

I finished the first book in the Lymond series and will be starting on the second tonight. I enjoyed the book so much more the second time I read it; hopefully it will be like that with the other 5 books. But I loved the series the first time around so much I didn't think it was possible to love it any more. Looks like I was wrong again.

Have a good night!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify