Italy as a last resort

2002-10-30

One of my coworkers has been showing up to work in the mornings this week wearing a thick, heavy sweater, a coat, and gloves. It's been about 50 degrees every morning this week, so what's with the ridiculous clothing overkill? And why do I care? Why am I incensed that this woman is freezing cold when it's 50 degrees out? This is none of my business, so I'm not sure why it's annoying me so much, except that I'm PMSing like crazy and am getting riled up about small things. This would be one of them. Another thing would be the recent news stories about how consumer spending is falling and everyone is worried about Christmas sales, and oh my god what if people don't buy a bunch of shit they and other people don't need? Here's the thing; I love giving xmas gifts but it pisses me off when economists focus so much attention on the xmas spending season. As though our whole economy is teetering on collapse if we don't get out there and spend spend spend. Let me tell you something [cover your eyes, Mom], FUCK that!! I'm not going to go out and put a bunch of expensive gifts on credit cards just so our nation can make it through yet another harrowing holiday season. Is it really reasonable for economists and politicians to subtley tell us to spend more money or something terrible will happen? Our economy IS bad, and lots of people are unemployed, so how can they buy expensive xmas gifts? They can't, that's how. I'm tempted to just call off xmas gifts this year altogether, but I know I won't because I like giving them too much. But they will be reasonably-priced gifts--no one is getting anything I'll have to pay off. Do you hear me, Economists?!

But you know what scares me? It's entirely possible our whole economy Does depend on xmas spending, and if that's the case, how can we even live with ourselves? I don't want to live in a country that revolves around this kind of hollow seasonal materialism.

Dear France, The Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Germany, Finland, and other Western European Countries [not you, Italy!],

We need a new country. Francisco, The Boy, and I have many skills among us, and we are seeking a place to put these skills to work. If you will take us in, we will give 110% toward making your country a better place (or at least not doing any harm) and toward rapid assimilation. We just want to live in a place where the economy isn't as fragile as a balloon in a roomful of pincushions and life has some meaning beyond making and spending money. Is that so much to ask? References provided upon request.

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

Today is my niece's birthday! I wish I could be at her party this weekend; that would be something to see. I predict utter mayhem.

I had a long IM talk today with the wonderful Catie. She said that her painful shoulder ordeal has her rethinking her idea of having a baby at home without painkillers. That made me laugh and I remembered how once, several years ago, I accidentally slammed my finger in a drawer and it hurt so bad that my first thought was, "I can't EVER have a baby!". And I haven't. See what office work will do to you?

Speaking of which, my second in command boss, who I really love, just got back from Portugal--she was there 10 days. She is my hero. She's single (divorced and has 3 grown children) and 60 years old and has a somewhat disabling disease (makes it difficult to walk), and yet she travels. Alone. To interesting places where she doesn't speak the language. She is very brave, I think, because I know people much younger than she is who won't even go to the movies by themselves. I want to be just like her when I grow up.

Gotta go. I spent a long time today goofing off and I have to try and make it up in this last half hour. Which generally I can do, and that only encourages my slacking.

We're carving pumpkins tonight, and you know what that means. Pumpkin seeds!

Also, don't forget West Wing--it's a new episode tonight.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify