something to think about

2002-07-10

#2

I used to feel very hardhearted when it came to the death penalty, like I felt that if someone committed a heinous crime, they deserved the death penalty and they shouldn't be surprised when they got it. Well, this site has changed my mind. There is just something so terribly sad about these last meals, and besides that, if you click on "offender information" as I always do, you can see some very telling things. You can see the crime committed but you can also see the current age of the person and the age at which he (usually he but occasionally she) committed the crime, and you can see the level of education the person has had. That last thing really gets me, because in almost every case, the person had not finished high school. In some cases the person hasn't even finished junior high. People rarely talk about level of education when they talk about crime, but it seems to me they should, because there is a definite correlation. Someday when I have a lot of free time, I'm going to go through every single record on the website and tally up some statistics, including what percentage of the offenders finished what level of education. I don't know why, exactly, but it really matters to me that I find out.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify