lack of rage has made me boring

2002-11-01

Last night was pretty good--we didn't get as many trick or treaters as last year and they were all polite. Some of them forgot to say Trick or Treat, in the excitement of the moment, but with a wee bit of prompting they said it, as well as Thank You. So no one was given an Almond Joy, though when Francisco started letting kids choose their own candy, some may have taken Almond Joys voluntarily. Francisco discovered a way of making it more fun to give out candy. When we heard kids coming up the driveway, he'd get into position, hand on the door handle. When they reached the door he'd fling it open violently and yell "What do you want?!". Kids were quite startled but they recovered and thought it was funny. We are Totally going to do that next year, but maybe we'll dress up scary too.

I didn't say yesterday what Boy's costume was going to be. He was a pimp. It was all his own idea and he put the costume together out of prior costumes and things borrowed from me and Francisco. I was embarrassed to have him going as a pimp, but then Atomic pointed out a site selling children's pimp costumes, and they were sold out. So I reasoned that if people weren't embarrassed to purposely order a pimp costume and dress their child in it, I shouldn't be embarrassed that Boy made his own pimp costume. He looked great and came home with a huge amount of candy. He went with Tony and a friend of Tony's--it was Boy's first year going out alone, and I think he loved the independence. We live in a good trick or treating neighborhood--it's very safe--so there wasn't much risk involved.

I'm listening to the Amelie soundtrack right now; it's pretty good. I want to order more French music, because I really like it.

I don't know how other employers do things, but here you can win stuff if you turn in a United Way donation card. They put your card with the others and have drawings. I won a gift certificate for Harris Teeter (a grocery store). It's just $10, but $10 is $10. I was going to shop there anyway this weekend; now I can buy an extra bottle of wine. A couple people I work with won $25 Target gift certificates, and I have to admit I'm jealous. I like Target and I never have an excuse to go there. The closest one is 40 minutes away, so an excuse is needed.

A woman writing a story about phone dates contacted me today to see if I'd be interested in talking to her about how I have phone dates with my friend Isabel. I said okay, and answered her questions and she seemed to feel my info was helpful, so we'll see what happens. Her story is going to be published next Tuesday in various newspapers, I guess.

My pms ended today; I'm feeling much more calm. So calm, in fact, that I can think of nothing to say. Also I need to head home now, so have a great weekend and I'll talk to you later.

Love and kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify