kitties on the rampage

2001-11-01

When I got home last night, Francisco reported that the cats had had an exciting afternoon. He had let them outside and was in his study, er, studying, when he was interrupted by an unearthly brouhaha coming from the front yard. Lots of shriekings, growlings, and yowlings--you know how cats are. He rushed outside and found that there was a strange cat in the yard, and the girls were really bitching the cat out. Then as he watched, the cats turned on each other with their screamings and even tried to whack each other. Francisco managed to herd Esther into the house, but Lucy ran around the side. When Francisco caught up with her she started hissing and growling at him too. He calmed her down and took her inside, but I guess there were Very Big Tails on the cats for awhile. I don't know why they go so batshit at the sight of other cats, but they definitely do. My theory on why they turn on each other is that, in the presence of an unknown cat, they're trying to figure out who outranks who, and maybe this necessitates a show of dominance. Who knows. I love the complexities of cats; they are a fabulous species.

The trick-or-treating last night went well; we had more kids come to our door than I'd expected. I made every child say "trick or treat", and "thank you" to me, but I think I did it in a nice way. If a kid was mute at the sight of me and the candy bowl, I would say, "okay, what's your line?", and the kid would come to his or her senses and say it. It worked out very well, in my opinion. The Boy was out for about an hour and came home with Way too much candy. He had a good time. He said his stomach hurt (from eating candy) and he made a few dramatic stomach-clutching gestures, but then Francisco said, "Don't milk it too hard, Boy; I saw you running around outside". He got well very quickly. The candy bowl that last night was mostly emptied into the bags of children is now full to heaping with Boy's candy bounty. This morning Francisco said, jokingly, to Boy, "For breakfast do you want Snickers or Milky Way?" I think Boy thought, for one dizzying moment, that Francisco was serious, but then he faced up to the reality of waffles.

I feel very boring right now. I have little or nothing to talk about, because nothing has really happened. It's already 5:30, so I think I'll just say bye for now, and tomorrow there will be a better update, since Survivor is on tonight, and all.

Love and kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify