a sordid kidnapping

2003-01-08

Feeling a tiny bit morose today, because I woke up with a sore neck. It's not so sore I have to turn my entire upper body when I want to see to the right or left, but it's sore enough to be constantly reminding me that it's sore. This doesn't happen to me very often and when it does I'm never quite sure what I did in my sleep to cause it. Stupid neck. I had planned to do yoga this morning but stayed in bed instead. Couldn't imagine trying to do yoga with this neck.

For some reason, Miles' entry today about his poor sick-eyed kitty made me remember something I'd sort of forgotten and that I will now preserve here for posterity. When we lived in Pasadena, CA, we lived about a mile and a half from where I worked. Across the street from where we lived was a huge apartment complex--ours was small by comparison. We got our cats while in Pasadena and they were strictly indoor cats, but I used to worry about cats I saw walking around outside, because we lived on a residential street, but there was still traffic. Once when I was outside, a cat came up to me and I petted it. It was still a kitten, but bigger, like a teenager, and it had some very distinctive calico markings. I watched the cat cross the street and go up to an apartment door so I surmised that is where it lived. One day when I was leaving work, that cat showed up in the office parking lot! Naturally I was concerned, since it was so far from home, so I loaded it into my car and drove home with it. I took it across the street, to its door, and knocked. A woman answered the door and I explained where I'd found her cat and she was very surprised and talked to me for a little while before sort of squinting at the cat and saying, "Wait...this isn't my cat". The markings were So similar that it took her awhile to realize it. I drove the cat back to the parking lot and left it there [I opened the door and said "Get out" in an Arnold Schwartzenegger/Terminator voice]--it probably lived in one of the houses on the next street over. Remembering this incident makes me snicker, because I always picture it from that cat's perspective. If he has a long term memory, he probably sometimes recalls that day he was kidnapped by a crazy woman and almost sold into slavery (for all he knows). He is probably grateful the deal fell through and he was returned to his family. Probably cats don't have long term memory, but if they do I'm convinced that cat is still relieved at the close call. Or maybe he was thrilled at the adventure? Sometimes it's hard to tell with cats, and this cat was definitely playing his cards close to the vest.

Francisco made the Best soup last night--a Russian cabbage borscht (no beets--I hate beets). He sort of combined elements of two different recipes, and it turned out great. I had some for lunch today, which is why I'm still rhapsodizing over it. I'm also reducing my food intake, and that always makes me appreciate food more. Man that was some good soup.

I forgot to talk about meeting my sister's boyfriend over Christmas--he's really great! Funny and patient (valuable quality in our family) and interesting, and very sweet to my sis, which earns him top marks. So I give the relationship two thumbs up and hope they live happily ever after. I think they will......

Today I'm wearing some new tights I got at TJ Maxx and they're too big on me. This hasn't happened in awhile, believe me. Really what it is is they're too long and I need to keep redistributing the extra length all over my legs--don't want them to bag at the ankles. And yet somehow I'm finding the time to get a Little work done today. I'm a superwoman. A superwoman with a neck problem. Speaking of which, who else has trouble getting work done if conditions are not right? Like, if I wear something uncomfortable, my productivity drops. Or if I'm too hot, or didn't get enough coffee, or have an itchy bug bite--these kinds of things make it so I get very little done at work. What with The Neck today, I'm surprised I'm getting anything done at all. It's a mystery.

Can I gripe for a minute? Why is it doctors are pronouncing everything to be a virus nowadays? I mean, I understand about wanting to limit antibiotics due to drug-resistant bacteria--believe me, I completely GET that whole concept--but it seems to me they could at least run a test or two to be sure whatever a person is sick with is not a bacterial infection. They don't test; they just kind of wave their hand at you and say it's a virus. I'm telling you, I'm not going to the doctor anymore. I'll take The Boy when he's sick, but I am personally just staying home from now on rather than spend the time and money to be told I have a virus. Is it just me or did this new "everything's a virus unless magically proven otherwise" thing start in the past 8-12 months? I just Know there was a Memo.

Okay, griping over. I'm going to continue catching up my work now. Have a great day!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify