Juan Valdez on a treadmill

2002-03-29

The gym was glorious this morning. This is because when I arrived, there were only 4 other people there, and numbers continued to be sparse throughout my stay. Contrast this with the 20+ people there on the other days of the week, and you'll see why I like Fridays at the gym so much. Anyway, as I was finishing up my weights, a guy arrived with a cup of coffee. I've seen him there before, with his coffee, but what he did next really cracked me up. He actually got onto a treadmill and started walking, without putting down his cup. He was just walking and drinking coffee, and it made me laugh. I wanted to go up to him and say, "Wow, I thought *I* liked coffee, but now I see I am only an amateur". But I didn't talk to him, because I am a wuss about talking to strangers.

My cats are on their way home from the vet, even as I type. I made the appointment for this morning, knowing that Francisco would have to take them, and as it turns out this is excellent payback for him being a total slob since his arrival home on Wednesday night. Don't get me wrong--I'm very glad he's home--but he is being sooooo messy and has ruined all the cleaning I did last weekend. Karma dictates that he must therefore drive the cats to the vet and listen to them going apeshit in their carriers. They hate the car and they want everyone to know it--their yowlings are almost operatic. They also dislike the vet and they hiss and growl at her, which is pretty funny, actually, as they are the most gentle and sweet of creatures at home. The appointment is just their yearly checkup and vaccinations, so the worst thing they will be subjected to is the taking of the temperature. Poor things. I wonder what Esther will weigh in at this time--she's kind of chunky. I don't think she's overly fat, but the vet thinks she is, and she always comments. I'm not sure what she expects me to do--I can feed them "light" food, but it does very little good (after eating light food for one year, Esther was only 3/4 of a pound lighter, and still fat, according to the vet). I can't make them do calisthenics or walk on the treadmill. My hands are tied. Tied, I tell you!

Rumor has it that our office might get to close at 3:30 today--I hope it's true. I have some Easter candy/toy shopping to do for the Boy, and I would love to do it this afternoon. Easter is his favorite holiday; we hide his Easter baskets and he really likes that. I guess he's kind of spoiled on Easter; I make him 2 baskets and my parents send him a package (it has already arrived--I will hide it for him to find on Sunday morning), but I figure that is one of the benefits of being an only child; parent resources do not need to be divided among siblings.

Francisco went to Costco yesterday and bought a safe. My god, I never thought we would own a safe! I always thought safes were for people who had diamond necklaces and mahogany-panelled libraries. I think it will come in handy, though, because it is fireproof and we can store important documents in there (like our passports, once we get them). The whole reason he bought the safe is because he has inherited a handgun from his dad. Not just Any handgun--this is Francisco's great-great-grandfather's gun from when he was a Kansas City police officer. This is a very old gun, and apparently it still works; hence the safe. I think everyone should own a safe, because I'll tell you the truth: I'm feeling a little swanky.

And I must pee, so I will say bye for now, and maybe I'll write more later, but if not, have a great weekend.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify