jelly saved my life

2004-10-08

Have y'all heard of the Bert Fershners? I ask because apparently they've been around for awhile, but I didn't know they existed until I saw them this week on an episode of Comic Remix that Dennis recorded for us. There were, I believe, 7 of them and they did a shortish musical sketch that was one of the most ridiculous and funny things I've ever seen. It began mildly, a lament in song about how bored they were and how nothing interesting ever happens, but then one of them puts on glasses and sees something in the distance. What could it be? It's shiny and has smoke coming out of it. They perk up, and a man wearing a sash that says MAYOR joins them and imparts the information that the jelly truck is coming. They're excited--OMG, the jelly truck! There is a hilarious over-the-top choreographed dance, and then the jelly truck arrives. It is a man with his head and shoulders inside the cab of a long, cardboard truck with JELLY on the side. He "disembarks" from the truck and begins a lame rap about jelly and then there's a funny (lame) hip hop dance sequence. They finish up with a little dance, accompanied by the exalted (and repeated) chant of "Jeh-eh-eh-eh-eh-eh-leee...thank you thank you jelly!", and then, "jelly........saved.....my........life......". People, I'm in love. Francisco will always be my main squeeze, but the Bert Fershners' exuberant silliness kidnapped a tiny piece of my heart.

This morning on my way to work I heard the Bee Gee's 'Stayin Alive' and decided I would someday like to karaoke it, except not in falsetto. I think a girl could really cheese it up, karaokeing that song.

I don't have a lot to say the past couple of days, and I don't have the power of concentration anyway. I think it's due to Sleepus Interrupticus, from coughing cats. No big plans this weekend, so far, but I've made a list of things I need to get started on, or at least Think about getting started on. So much to do, so little momentum.

Have a great weekend--some of you get three days, you lucky bastards. Enjoy it!
Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify