dragged screaming? really? awesome

2007-06-08

The students are in the process of packing up and leaving, which means I will Definitely be visiting the thrift stores tomorrow, because I just know they're getting rid of all kinds of things. I'm tempted to go dumpster diving, even, since there will be lots of lazy people who won't bother taking their stuff to a thrift store, but I can probably refrain.

I'm feeling very efficient lately. Francisco's busy Police schedule (including stuff he needs to do for his upcoming job @ the new jail in Yakima--I told y'all about that, right?) is keeping him out of the house most of the time, so we've begun shifting tasks around so that I'm doing more of the household labor. What I've discovered is sneaking in the chores is working really well for us/me. For instance, last night I did a load of laundry and put it in the dryer to dry but didn't take it out when it was done. This morning I ran the dryer awhile again, to de-wrinkle, while doing another load of laundry. When both were done, I took out the load from last night and dried the new load, but again left it in the dryer for later. I've been doing errands and dishes during my lunchtime (when I'm not lunching with stupid boys), and basically shit is getting done that needs to get done, without any kind of large block of time effort. We've started using iCal (the Mac calendar software) to schedule who cooks when, and what they're cooking; it's still mostly Francisco who's been cooking, but I've been making the salads that go with the main food.

Oh, and let me tell you about these salads, because I'm in love with them and want to marry them. They've been consisting of romaine lettuce, yellow pepper, green onion, pickled red onions, toasted hazelnuts, and roasted sunflower seeds. To our portions we also add pickled jalapeno rings, but we leave those out of Sharky's, because he doesn't like them. For dressing we've been using blue cheese, and oh my lambies, this salad is the best thing in the history of ever. I could happily eat just that for dinner, provided I used two loaves of lettuce instead of just one.

Today I'm wearing a pair of pants I haven't been able to wear for at least 2 years, probably 3, and naturally this pleases me. I decided to break out the toe rings today, in celebration of the pants, and the rings are also pleasing me. Not sure why I don't wear toe rings more often, but they rarely see the light of day. Are they skanky? I really don't know.

On Wednesday I finally had lunch with Nathan--Baby Rich weaseled out but Nathan's friend, Travis joined us. It was pretty fun, even if my "burgeroni" soup was not the taste sensation I was hoping for. That night Nathan went out on the town and kept calling me to try and get me and Francisco to join him; he tried to lure us by telling me about a delicious drink we could order, which is served in a large milk bottle-type container, and truth be told, it Did sound pretty delicious. It was difficult to convince him that there was no way I was going to change out of pajamas at 9:00 at night to go out drinking, but finally he took my word for it. The youth of today has too much energy and stamina, if you ask me, but at least he knows enough not to drunk drive--he always makes sure he has a ride.

Yesterday during my lunch hour I went to the library to pay off my overdue fine, and also look again for that Eat, Pray, Love book Catie recommended. It's in their catalogue, and in fact it's listed as checked in and on the shelf, but I can't find it at its shelf address or in the new books. I'm going to demand that they find it but first I thought I should pay them the money I owed them. The other day I checked out a book I'm really enjoying, about the people of Haines, Alaska; it's called "If You Lived Here, I'd Know Your Name". I'll finish that one and then go back to make my demands about the other book, because I do want to read it. After the library I went to the post office to mail my summer burn postcard, which is this picture that I downloaded and then added some pink tones to before printing out in postcard size. The guy who took the picture is friends with the summer burn people, and he is aware of how much I like his photo, so I don't think he'll mind.

Also yesterday I called the cats' vet to get the results of their checkup bloodwork, and there are a couple things indicating possible hyperthyroid for both of them. The vet recommended one other test (which will be performed on the blood the lab already has) to determine for sure if their thyroids are hyper, and I authorized it and so will now have to pop by the vet and pay them $140 more. I wish I could put the girls on my work health insurance, but alas, they can't be considered my daughter even though they Totally Are.

Weekend Plans:

Tomorrow I will do a few little chores and projects (including finishing my new niece's sweater) and also make tamales, for dinner and for freezing to have later. I am considering making a cake we just saw on Alton Brown's show--Tres Leches Cake--to take to Leah and Inti on Sunday, but I'm not sure I'll get around to it. Francisco will be working as Police at the college graduation tomorrow, so he'll be gone most of the day and it'll be just me working on stuff. Sunday we're going to go see Lou's dance recital, which I'm betting is going to be a near-total hootenanny, and on the way back we'll do a bit of shopping (I want some new sneakers and also some bubble tea--it's been forEVer since I had any). Sharky isn't going to accompany us to the recital, preferring instead to hone his soccer skills at the weekly pick-up game, and that will be his loss, though I can see how he'd prefer soccer over dancing.

Tonight I'm not going to consume my usual Friday night two glasses of wine (or one cocktail), as I have decided to let my liver rest for awhile; at least until after I get back from Minired's. This was probably not the timeliest decision/promise to myself that I've made, considering I was counting on having a beer during my flight layovers (OH how I hate flying!), but I forgot about that when I promised my liver it could rest that long. Maybe I'll depart from wither time on my flight days and get a dessert instead. I seem to remember some airports have Cinnabon, and I can't even remember the last time I had one of those, but I'm pretty sure it was when we were flying someplace. That's sounding like a pretty good idea, I have to tell you, but then again, I AM kind of hungry right now.

I know it makes me a less kind person than I want to be, but I can't help but enjoy the Paris Hilton jail drama that's going on right now, especially the histrionics in the courtroom. It's too bad for Paris that she had to learn so relatively late in life that she can't do whatever she wants to--a lesson us "common folk" learned at like age 2--but it's a lesson she needs and she's responding to it so entertainingly. How can I not enjoy her being dragged screaming off to jail?? It's just not possible at my current level of kindness. After I attain Bodhisattva status, these types of worldly concerns will merely cause me to raise a serene hand in some kind of meaningful gesture, and plus I will also say something super wise. But in my present form I'm laughing gleefully at every new development.

Okay, I've gotta go; I can't sit around here all day talking to you people, I've got Work to do.

Love and Kisses,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify