it's Alive

2002-09-09

If you've read any of my past few entries, you're already aware that I am a humorless, self-pitying titty baby when I'm sick; especially when the sickness lasts for any more than 2 days or so. I'm now on one week of sickness, and though I feel better and know I will be well soon, I still called in sick today. This is because I have no voice (at all--I can only whisper) and also because I know that I would be totally worn out after a couple hours of sitting upright. It is Pathetic, but I can see the light at the end of the sickness tunnel. I think I'll be able to go back to work tomorrow, though I still won't have a voice. I figure the whispering will work to my advantage--anyone who calls to talk to me will be unlikely to engage me in a long conversation, because it'll be too irritating for them. Plus I'll get props for working when I'm so obviously incapacitated; I will appear dedicated in the face of adversity. People will mistake me for someone who cares. It will be beautiful.

You might say to me, "Tattoobelly," you might say, "What have you been doing the past few days?" To which I would reply, "You mean besides feeling sorry for myself?" Mainly I've been incredibly bored, because I have little energy to do anything substantial but also no patience for things that suck, like television. So I've watched Some television, but also read books and made myself a little ankle bracelet out of red seed beeds and elastic thread. It was like beading 101 but it's kind of pretty and I'm liking the red lately.

Yesterday I also made a lackluster attempt at cleaning out my desk and organizing my craft stuff. Things are now arranged in the bedroom so that I can finally store all my craft crap in one place. This has never happened before, and it's great because now I'll remember what I have and be able to access everything easily, as opposed to digging it out of various boxes around the house. I'll be dragging it all out and paring it down before I install it in the bedroom. I have saved some Stupid things, thinking I would use them in a future craft. I think the stupidest thing I've come across is the stem of a pumpkin. It's all dried up and nasty, and I believe I squirrelled it away a couple years ago thinking I would someday make a papier mache pumpkin and could use it on that. Please. As though.

Part of the rearrangement of the bedroom includes the getting rid of this wooden drying rack I've had for several years. I've been drying my clothes on it, mostly my undergarments, but there's no room for it now so I'll have to figure out another place to dry things. Poor Lucy will have to find a new hobby, now that dragging my underpants off the drying rack and rolling on them is no longer an option.

In other news recently, we got that table from Pottery Barn, or rather Francisco came home with it on Friday afternoon. Saturday we went out and got some chairs, so now we're set. Between the new table/chairs and the new light fixture, the kitchen is a lovely place to be. I've been going in there just to look at it.

Also, yesterday via email we got a great little film of our niece, Lucia, walking. Not that step-step-fall walking either. Real, honest to god toddling. She's only ten months old! That's young to be walking, right? That child is the best baby ever. I mean, the Boy was an excellent baby, and he was the best baby ever when he was a baby, but Lucia has usurped the title now. She's gorgeous, and fun to watch on film, because she totally plays to the camera.

This morning we were watching CNN, and they did a little piece on how the media's coverage of the upcoming 9/11 one year anniversary thing is excessive. Which it is, but don't they see how ridiculous it is to cover the excessive coverage? I don't know why it's necessary to do a whole day of media coverage on 9/11--it's not like anyone has forgotten the horror. It's not like we haven't seen images of the twin towers practically every day for the last year. No one is going to forget, so basically the networks are just doing it for the ratings. I am boycotting tv on Wednesday, for sure. Except for West Wing, if it's on. Because, duh.

So I'm done now. Staying home has given me little to talk about. Tonight I will be sleeping in the living room, on the futon, because I've been keeping Francisco awake with my nocturnal coughings and moanings. Poor thing. At least I haven't infected him or Boy with this flu.

I go now to have a sandwich. And some grapes.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify