fresh doctor

2001-11-09

Last night I left work at 5:10. Ordinarily, leaving at 5:10 would put me at home at 5:25 or 5:30, but guess what time I actually arrived. If you guessed 6:28, you win the prize! This is because there was some kind of huge accident on the freeway and traffic was barely moving. I listened to the 'Jazzy Singers' radio show on my favorite station, WXDU, and the time would have passed semi-pleasantly except for two things. 1) I knew Francisco would start worrying, and as I do not have a cell phone, I could not call him. 2) I had to pee. When I was leaving the office I thought about using the bathroom, but I figured I would be home soon, so I would just wait. I learned a valuable lesson with that one. When I got home Francisco was very worried, and I felt bad about that, especially since he had made a delicious risotto for dinner. I love me some risotto.

Okay, who watched Survivor last night? Show of hands? It was really good. Your honor, I would like the record to show that my prediction was correct, although now I regret hedging my bets, because in 100% honesty I thought they would trade members but then I hedged with the third tribe option. For Real. My diaryland predictions are so rarely correct that I have to play up this correct prediction thing, because who knows when it will happen again? But I digress. I was very intrigued with the Boran tribe's intentional loss in the immunity challenge--I don't think I've ever seen a tribe lose on purpose. Has that happened before? Anyone? I Loved that they voted out Silas, because That jackass was due to go. His strategic machinations were so painfully obvious that I was embarrassed for him. Buh-bye, Silas. Now if the show could just offload Lindsey, we'd be set. Good old Jeff Probst intimated that maybe the tribes would not be merging after the next vote, and if that's the case, I am sans prediction. If they didn't merge, what would they do? I've got no clue.

I did something this morning that seems childishly simple, but which I had been putting off doing, for whatever reason. I changed primary care doctors. The doctor I switched to has been highly recommended to me by more than one person, and switching to her puts me in a whole new office, which is good. I have had So much trouble with that office ignoring me (not doing my referrals, even when directly requested by the doctor; not calling in my prescription when they said they would; not returning phone calls, etc), and there is no reason to put up with that. The badness of the office is really my only reason for switching doctors, because though my former doctor had technically been my doctor for over 4 years, I've never laid eyes on her. She was never available when I was sick, so I just always saw whoever was. After I switched doctors, I called up the new office and made an appointment to see her. The soonest appt. I could get, since I am not actually ill, was December 4th, but that's soon enough. I hope she's as great as other people said she was. It would be a really novel experience to have a doctor take an interest.

I'm going to cut this a little short today, as I'm leaving the office at 4 and need to finish some things before then. I don't have any firm plans for the weekend except to finish Francisco's scarf. He's going to Denver on the 16th and it will be cold there--definite scarf weather. And who knows, maybe I will actually get around to working on those marble magnets. Having all the ingredients has made me complacent. Do y'all have good weekend plans?

Yesterday morning when I woke up, I said, "Hey Francisco--guess what country I am!" He did not have a guess. I said, "I'm Iceland; the land of fire and ice!" In my mind this was the height of genius, because half of me was under the covers (which are a little too warm lately) and half was not. Yes, this is what passes for genius at 6 a.m. Poor Francisco, he puts up with so much.

Well sweetpeas, I hope your weekend are all fabulous. Do fun things and I'll talk to you next week.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify