it's official: he told me so

2002-05-30

At last the universe has revealed to me the hidden true purpose behind our vacation to Amsterdam and France! I, in my ignorance, thought it was just for fun, but the universe scoffs at fun as a motive. The true reason we're going to be in France when we are is so we will bump into the Red Hot Chili Peppers and become good, good friends with them. They're playing a couple different concerts in France--the south--at the same time we'll be in the south, and I just know the universe is going to arrange a meeting. It better, because it owes me. I hope the guys like my Paris pants. At their website you can play their new single, due to be released in the US on July 9. I like it; it's pretty good. It seems to be on a weird loop though--it just plays and plays and plays until you stop it. I really love the Peppers--I am looking forward to their new album.

To read the above, you'd never know I'm 34. I'm not a real FANfan of very many musicians, but the Peppers hold a special place in my heart, and in a way I wish I didn't know they were going to be in France at the same time we are, because if the universe doesn't come through for me, I'm going to be disappointed. A little anyway.

This morning, for the first time in 4.5 weeks, I put in my contact lenses. It's not because my eyelid is healed up, oh no. It's because the eye dr. told me I could wear the lenses as long as they didn't irritate the eyelid, and I thought they would so I didn't wear them, but not wearing them has done no good at all, so screw it. The eyelid had its chance to heal--it had 4 1/2 long weeks--so it's on its own now. And of course, of Course the contacts are not irritating the lid so probably I had 4.5 weeks of ugliness for nothing. I told Francisco the lenses didn't hurt and he said, "I'm so glad! I wish you had listened to me weeks ago..." [he had encouraged me to give the lenses a try very early on in the eyelid problem]. I said, "You just Had to get that in there, didn't you?", because basically what he was saying is "I told you so", but in different words. I don't blame him; it's very satisfying to give someone the I Told You So. But, you know. I don't want to hear it again.

The house is mainly put back together now, but most of the cleaning remains. That will be my big weekend task, so wish me luck. My parents are arriving on Sunday night and I'm really looking forward to seeing them. Hopefully they will like our new carpet, because we got it before our trip so that they could enjoy the niceness of it while we're gone. It has that new carpet smell, which was nice at first and a good change from the dog-body odor, but it's starting to smell less good the longer I'm smelling it. I'll vacuum again tonight; maybe that will help.

Actually I might not have time to vacuum tonight, because Boy's class is having an event tonight. I'm not even sure what it is exactly, but it's the unveiling of a project they've been working on for awhile, and Boy seems excited about it. Personally I'm going to have to fake it, because I have a lot to get done and I'm feeling the pressure, but I'm a pretty good actress where these things are concerned.

Open Letter to the West Wing Producers or Whoever

Dear West Wing Bigwigs,

I very much enjoyed last night's rerun of the Qumari Women episode. However, if it wouldn't be too much trouble, could you include some 1st or 2nd season episodes in this summer's reruns? Because I haven't seen any of them and I'd like to.

Thanks so much!

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

I love that show so much.

All for now...

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify