he's so stupid

2002-08-09

The phone rang a few minutes ago when I was putting wet clothes into the dryer, and when I answered it I could hear something on the other end, though no one spoke at first. I said hello, and said it again, and then a girl's voice said, "He's so stupid", and the line went dead. Um...buh? It's a mystery.

So far today I slept in until 7:00, which sounds dumb except that for me 7:00 IS sleeping in, and then I read a little and had breakfast and hung out with Francisco and Boy until about 9:00. Francisco and I then went into the yard and did some pruning and clean-up, and we put a fresh layer of shredded bark on the beds in the front of the house. I clandestinely watered our pots of thyme, basil, and chives, plus our tiny white lilac shrub. I have to water on the sly due to our area's Extra High Amazingly Sinister Water Rationing. Tonight when it's dark and most of the neighborhood is asleep, we're going to sneak out and water the roses, because we're rebels, and the roses are parched. I understand the need for banning outdoor water use, since much water is wasted on lawns via sprinkler watering, but I'm going to water the roses anyway--sparingly and carefully.

Also today, earlier, I sort of finished that stripey scarf I am making. I finished the knitting proper and now I need to stitch it up and mail it to the extremely patient Shereen, who has undoubtedly given up hope of ever seeing it. Hang on, little missy--the scarf will be there soon! It's just as hideous as I promised.

Boy is having a neighbor friend spend the night tonight and I'm sure they'll have fun. This is one of the kids from the vegan family, so Francisco is at this moment procuring vegan weiners and other vegan treats at the Whole Foods market. He is also renting a movie the kids will like so that we can just let them roam free tonight, as long as they confine their free roaming to the inside of the house, and stay out of my bedroom and the office.

I talked to my mom today, too, and it was a good conversation. The day so far has been pretty good, and I am thrilled to have two more entire days to do much the same as I did today. Tomorrow we need to go school supply shopping for Boy, as he starts middle school on Monday. I am keeping all digits crossed that he will enjoy middle school about 1050% better than I did, because I hated middle school. Worst 3 years of my life.

I hear Francisco struggling in with groceries; I must go assist him. I hope your Friday has been Fabulous.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify