here I sit, brokenhearted

2002-11-16

I'm sitting here, freshly bathed, in an ugly old nightshirt; I'm dressed for the day. I really didn't anticipate this tattoo being so big, and I could've had Glenn make it smaller, but I think the design would've lost something if it were smaller. It stretches from just above my ass crack up to just below my bra strap. So I can't wear underpants today and I'm sure not going to bother with a bra.

The tattoo isn't finished. The outline, shading, and flames took 2 1/2 hours, and at that point I had reached my limit. At first the pain wasn't too bad except at the lowest and highest parts (who knew the butt crack was so sensitive? not me, that's who), but after a couple hours Everything was too sensitive. I cried and cursed and laughed my way through that last bit, and Glenn was so great. Really I can't recommend him highly enough. He did this thing that was amazingly comforting; he had my laying on my stomach and as he worked he kind of leaned on me with his upper body. Probably it was just most comfortable for him, but the warmth and pressure of his arms helped a lot. I considered telling him how nice that was, but I didn't want him to get self-conscious about it. Anyway, I'm going to go see him on December 6th. He'll check to see how healed the current tattoo is, and then we'll set a date to come back to get the color filled in (probably that weekend). Right now my tattoo is just black with shading, plus the red flames. He did the flames with the outline because the flames aren't outlined in black and wouldn't be easily filled in later. This is more than you'd care to know, isn't it.

Otherwise yesterday I was at the DMV for an hour and 20 minutes, getting my license renewed (they were short-handed and the line was long), and also I went shopping for pajama bottoms (I thought I'd be able to wear them this weekend--how foolish was That?!), gloves, and yarn to make a scarf. The gloves and scarf-to-be are for my annoying, always-cold coworker. I drew her name in the holiday gift exchange and the gloves and scarf are perfect. Her current gloves all have the fingers ripped out, and who doesn't like a scarf? I'm making this cute "buttonhole" scarf--shorter than normal and toward one end there's an opening through which you pull the other end of the scarf. This is a free pattern I got from the web--if anyone wants to potentially make it themselves, let me know and I'll link to the pattern.

Blah blah blah. My birthday had a suffering theme--first the DMV, then the shopping (the shopping center I was at is always crowded and irritating), then the tattoo, and then Francisco had made me a Thai noodle dish for dinner. It was delicious but was Very spicy. I had requested Thai food but after about an hour under the needle, I started wishing I'd asked for macaroni and cheese--much more comforting.

After dinner I opened my gifts. Francisco gave me a good book on beading, which he shouldn't have, because the tattoo is my gift from him. The Boy gave me a Gorgeous barrette; all sparkly and jewel-y. Both gave me great cards, and Francisco even wrote a bunch of haikus to put in his. A sampling:

In fun and good ways

Turning into her mother

But not all at once

----------

Knitting some project

Eva lies up in the bed

Cats dock, contented

---------

Branch of apricot

Fierce phoenix out of ashes

Her body is marked

----------

Behold! She goes forth

Air filled with smell of Swiffer.

Weekend housecleaning

-----------

Myriad facets

Spouse, Mom, Friend, etcetera

All love Nutella

There are others, but they are of a more personal nature, so these are all I'm sharing. The card was a gift in itself. My parents sent me a lovely opal pendant/necklace. I like opals a lot, but I am going to take the necklace when we go to Oregon next month and exchange it for an opal in a more plain setting. This one is a little too non-plain for my taste. My parents are so good to me; they never care if I exchange something. And I never care if they exchange something. This is good, because we are always exchanging. Francisco asked me why my family even Bothers to give gifts, what with all the exchanging. We just do. It is our way.

I think that's about all I have to report, and I need to have me some breakfast now, so have a fun day, and thank you so much for your good birthday wishes yesterday. It was a nice day, even with all the suffering.

Love and kisses to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify