health, or lack thereof

2001-11-06

Second entry of the day! Though the first was so short it hardly counts.

I'm really hating The Celestine Prophecy. If anyone reading this has read TCP and thinks it would be worth me continuing to the end, please tell me so via email or guestbook, because I'm ready to give up on that mess. I'm finding it hard to listen (it's on audiobook) to it for more than 5 minutes at a time; my brain keeps drifting to other things.

My allergies are going crazy lately. I believe I'm allergic to molds, and there are currently plenty of leaf molds around to keep my sinuses in a half-nelson. Lots of nose blowing, people, and a sore throat most of the time.

And speaking of health, my Employer is having an Employee Health Fair today, and I went this morning with a coworker. They are giving free flu shots and the wait for a flu shot was about 2 hours. I don't get the flu every year, but whenever I get it I think "next year I am Going to get a flu shot!". And then I never do. I believe many more people are getting flu shots this year because they think if they get a flu shot and then get "flu-like symptoms" they will know they have the anthrax. But, and correct me if I'm wrong, flu shots only protect against a certain flu strain, so you can still get the flu if you are infected by a different or mutated strain. I think there will be So many people panicking about anthrax this year, once flu season really gets going. It's going to be very annoying.

But maybe flu season is underway Now. Half my office is out sick, and my boss has a terrible cold, but as usual, he's in the office and spreading it around. He has an inflated sense of his own importance--he thinks he can't possibly stay home when he's sick; the office would fall apart! I was thinking about calling in sick later this week, just as a mental health day, and now I think I Definitely will. There's not much to do here now anyway.

Boy is off school today for a teacher workday, and he and Francisco came and took me to lunch. We went to one of our favorite Chinese places and I had the Homestyle Tofu. It was great, and fun to see my boys in the middle of the day.

I am having an extremely low energy day. Francisco and I got up at 5 and very reluctantly went to the gym. We thought once we were there we would feel like being there, but it was not to be. We cut our exercise short and went home for breakfast. I still have very little energy; maybe I'm really getting an illness and can call in sick tomorrow legitimately.

It's been awhile since I talked about how much I like atomictonic, so let me just say once again how great that site is. Check it out if you have time.

Wow, this is a whiny entry--sorry. I do think it accurately reflects my mood and all that, so I'll let it be whiny, but jeez. I'll probably feel better tomorrow and my update will be happier, or I'll be out sick (or "sick"), in which case I won't be able to update at all. I hope you're feeling good or, alternately, are able to lay around and be waited on.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify