I have turned into a redneck

2002-07-09

Sorry for no update yesterday. I left work at 1:30 to go to a appointment with Francisco and afterwards we had dinner and went to the mall and didn't get home until about 7:00. At that point I was feeling weary, and did not have the strength to write an entry. Today it's a different story, as you will see.

This weekend I tried two things that were completely new to me.

1) Pistol shooting. Francisco had bought me that nice 9mm semi-automatic (which, if you're not familiar with guns, as I was not until recently, isn't as menacing as it sounds) the previous Saturday, so this past Saturday he took me to an indoor shooting range. He had me shoot his revolver first, because it has a long barrel and shoots smaller bullets, so it was quieter and did not have much recoil. Once I was used to that he had me shoot the 9mm. I didn't like it at first--it is louder and has much more recoil--but I got used to it and enjoyed the target shooting. The range had a large-ish selection of targets and I was lucky to find a couple that were basically big photographs of scary looking men with guns. I got a lot of amusement out of those targets because all the other people in the range were using the standard silhouette targets. I love the picture targets; I totally want to frame some of them and hang them on my walls. LE-13, LE-25, and LE-33 are my favorites. LE-31 is pretty good too.

Sunday involved more gun stuff. Francisco had been planning to join a local outdoor range, and since I enjoyed the target shooting so much, we decided to swing by the outdoor range on the way home from the indoor range. Or more accurately, on the way home from the brew supply store, which we had visited after the indoor range (it was nearby). We also went to Crate and Barrel while we were out and got some cool sale stuff, but I am digressing like crazy so let's not talk about that now. The outdoor range is large--they have a pistol range, an archery range, and ranges for shotgun sports. They have skeet shooting, trap shooting, and some other thing that involved a shotgun and some of those clay disks but I can't remember the name. They also have a large lake that members can use for boating and fishing. So it's a nice place and we wanted to join it, and coincidentally they were having their monthly Safety and Club Rules meeting on Sunday--the meeting is a prerequisite for joining the club. We went to the meeting on Sunday and it was excruciating. Almost 3 hours of horrible video, bad class instruction, and embarrassing range test. But we passed and we're in, so hopefully we can put the pain behind us.

Does this all seem as weird to you as it does to me? I mean, I never pictured myself as the kind of gal who would like guns and all that. And I don't particularly like Guns, per se--I just like the target shooting. It seems kind of weird but it's fun, so...yeah. Just so you know, we keep all firearms unloaded, in a safe, inside a locked closet. So no worries--there will not be any accidental shootings happening at our house. I just know if I didn't say that, someone would sign my guestbook and tell me I am a negligent parent. Which I would be if I left loaded guns lying around, but I don't.

One thing I'm looking forward to with the gun range is girling it up when I go there. It's quite a boy's club, though there are some woman members, so I'm going to be as girly as possible when I'm there. I'm going to glue rhinestones to my ear and eye protectors and wear pink clothing. This will necessitate buying pink clothing, because I don't have any, but that is just fine. I will add other girly touches as I think of them, and I know I'll think of them. I'll be like Weetabix with her girly pink golf bag, only with guns.

2) [the other new thing for me] Sunday I purchased and test-drove some thong panties. I had never worn them before and I think I must've been the Last Woman in America who hasn't worn them, so I decided to buy a couple pairs while at the Wal Mart buying ear protectors. It was a very redneck purchase, I must say. Some ear protectors, some shooting goggles, a pack of targets (regrettably not the picture targets), thong panties, women's boxer shorts and a hoochie mama top (for sleeping, naturally). This was our purchase--I was sort of embarrassed but amused as well. And the thong panties aren't as uncomfortable as I thought they would be. They'll take some getting used to, but I like them. The best thing about them is being able to pull my pants down and childishly shake my ass at Francisco. He likes them too, by the way. But you know, maybe this thong thing is too much information. Too much information? Anyone?

Otherwise this weekend, not much. I had a brief letter from Boy yesterday. He told me when we dropped him at camp that he would write Often. Uh-huh. Fortunately I didn't believe him, because so far we've received the one letter, and it was about 4 sentences long. Also barely legible--he must've been rushing. We also had a letter from one of his cabin counselors (they write once a week) to say that Boy has settled in well and is enjoying camp and making lots of friends. I am happy to hear it and I understand why he isn't writing us; he's having a great time. The camp allows us to send emails and they will print them out and give them to him at mail call. They charge money for the service, but it's worth it to have our letters get there so quick. His birthday is Friday and our gift to him is the previously agreed-upon guinea pigs, but we're also going to have a gift pack sent to him from a company near the camp that specializes in camp gift packs. I don't know what that might encompass, but we'll see. The camp itself will have a birthday cake for him and his cabinmates, so I think he'll have a good birthday.

I guess that's it, except that the Red Hot Chili Peppers' new album is out today. Francisco preordered it for me from Amazon, and I am hoping (without much actual hope) that it will be waiting for me when I get home. I love me the Peppers.

More tomorrow,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify