everything looks bad if you reMEMber it

2002-10-04

I am so absent minded. I totally forgot to tell what happened last Saturday when we were out on a little shopping trip. We had stopped at a store where we purchased, among other things, a small bag of those orange slice candies (the gummy ones). We were walking from there to another store and Francisco opened the orange slices and passed them around. The Boy was next to me, eating his orange slice, and then he stopped walking and took something out of his mouth. He held it out to me and it was a piece of orange slice, with a tooth in it. It was both disgusting and hilarious. Boy is almost finished losing teeth now (only 2 more to go), and I guess his 3rd to last tooth decided to come out in a creative way. Fortunately a woman at the next shop gave him some paper to wrap his tooth in, because Francisco and I refused to touch the nasty thing. That night Boy put it under his pillow for the "tooth fairy", and the "tooth fairy" (which of course Boy knows is us) completely forgot to trade the tooth for money until last night. Every night Boy would haul that paper-wrapped tooth (with a significant amount of orange candy still attached) out from under his pillow and say, "I guess the tooth fairy doesn't love me anymore.", and every night we'd smack our foreheads and silently resolve to come back later when he was asleep and make the switch. Last night Francisco remembered and did tooth fairy duty; he's the Good parent.

One of my coworker's husband visited her this morning with their 2 little girls, and everyone clustered around the kids (right outside my office, I have to add) and cooed over them and talked about them and said how cute they were. And they were sincere, but I just don't see it. I mean, the children are attractive (as opposed to hideous and mutated), so in that sense they're cute, but they didn't DO anything except stand there, mute, and look around. I don't know; I guess I'm hard to impress. If one of them had juggled and the other one had done a little dance, Then I could've joined in the praising, but as it is, my cats are far cuter. As is The Boy, but he's older (and sentient) and says and does funny things, which is a guaranteed Eva Stamp of Approval. My niece also gets the stamp of approval (though she's not even quite a year old yet) because she's a remarkably charming baby.

Speaking of charmng, when I was getting ready for work this morning, I noticed that Esther was lying on her back at the edge of the bed. She was sort of facing away from the edge, so I talked lovingly to her because I knew that she would writhe in happiness and fall off the bed, and she did, and she looked very surprised. This exact same thing happened last night too, so I'm not sure why she was surprised, but the expression on her face as she fell off was priceless. Don't worry, she landed on her feet; she always does.

I took a break in writing this to go out for lunch with Francisco. He was nearby today, so we had lunch at our favorite diner and then went to one of my favorite stores that is in short walking distance of the diner. Francisco bought me a lovely sparkly barrette. He noticed it and held it up to my hair and had me admire it and then he waited.

Me: "Do you want me to say it?"

Him: "Yes."

Me: [wheedlingly] "Buy it for me, daddy."

Francisco likes this very much, and goshdarnit, I do too. We both think it's very funny for me to call him daddy, especially because I don't do it very often. Catie talked about that "daddy" thing once too--she also thinks it's funny to call Andy "daddy" once in awhile, for the same reasons. Anyway, so Francisco bought me the barrette, and he also noticed some lovely pillows the store carries, that I've never noticed before. They're hand-embroidered silk, and are about 16 inches square, and only $24 each. We couldn't believe that was the price, but it is (the store owner told us the man who makes them gives her a good price because she was the first person to buy his things), so we bought a couple for our living room couch. Hopefully the cats and Boy will go easy on them--we'll have to make Rules.

I'm starting to get aggravated. My second in command boss is having her 60th birthday next week, and I volunteered to make a coconut cake (from scratch, so a big pain in the ass) because I like my second in command boss a lot and she likes coconut cake. So NOW everyone is also expecting that I'm coordinating the birthday festivities and they're asking what they should bring, and what time it's at, and who else we should invite, and on and on, and I want to throttle people. Isn't it enough that I'm going to take about 5 hours this weekend to make this gorgeous, monstrously complicated cake? Do I have to coordinate everything Else too? The answer is NO. I sent the following email:

"subject: thank you cooperate

People, I need to lay it on the line. I sent out the email about Pat's birthday, but I don't really want to coordinate the thing. I'm making the cake, yes, but that cake is going to take me 4 or 5 hours to make (making it all from scratch), so I was wondering if someone else could coordinate the party proper. By 'coordinate' I just mean be the go-to person re: the other foods people want to bring, any decorations people want to bring, and etc. Any volunteers? Anyone bored and feeling festive? Bueller?"

Someone stepped forward, and she is a life-saver.

I'm very happy to report that our former neighbors (the ones who moved to Utah a couple years ago) called last night and will be visiting the area next weekend. We love them and it will be so great to see them again. They had a baby (a boy) a few months ago (they already had a little girl who is about 5 now), so we'll get to meet their son and see how much their daughter has grown. I wish we could see their cat again--a very sweet Abyssinian--but I doubt he'll be making the trip with them.

Survivor last night: Is it too much to ask that Skateboard Robb should be voted off the hemisphere? He is possibly the most annoying Survivor ever, and I will rejoice mightily when he is dumped. Another annoying person is that Ghandia. I get the feeling she's the kind of person who likes to create drama around herself at all times. I can understand her being upset about what Ted did, but she accepted his apology and then turned around and told everyone what he did and embellished the story and didn't tell people he apologized. That's not right. If she didn't really accept his apology like she sincerely seemed to, she should've talked to him again and not to the other tribe people. Clearly she's trying to get rid of him, but that's pretty stupid if you ask me. He's their strongest member! I think this is the dumbest bunch of Survivors so far, and that's really saying something. I love that show...

I'm sure I have more to say, but I want to get some stuff done before I leave tonight, so I'm going to stop now. We received two good Netflix in the mail today (how timely), so we can once again thwart Bad TV Friday. Sunday I will be making a cake, and otherwise no other weekend plans. Have a good weekend!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify