grody body parts

2002-01-10

Okay, I am gross, but it isn't my fault. Yesterday morning I went to the gym, as documented previously. I showered there, which was not documented, and while I was in the shower I contracted the athlete's foot. The weird part is that I Remember contracting the athlete's foot. I was washing my hair and I suddenly felt my right big toe begin to itch. I thought at the time that it was just an itchy toe, but by last night some other toes had started itching too, and the original itchy toe was itching so much I wanted to scratch it with the cheese grater. But of course I didn't. So now I have to add foot fungus spray to my morning and nighttime routines, and it's not as though the routines are lacking in substance as it is. Francisco bemoans the length of my morning grooming, and my nighttime facial washing/moisturizing and tooth cleansings already--now I have to also factor in washing and de-fungifying my feet. It doesn't seem fair, but hopefully it will only last a few days. Damn that anonymous nasty-footed shower-infecting woman!

This morning I remembered a guy we met at the naked ranch, on the day of the naked 5k. We asked him if he had run in the race and he laughed and said no way, that he is a poster child for bad living. He said the only time he had run in a race was when he did a "Race For The Cure" 5k. He said he was worn out halfway through and saw a pub that was just opening, so he went in and ordered a beer. The woman he talked to said, "But aren't you in the race?" and he said, "Yes, but I'm not going to WIN." So she gave him a free beer in a to-go cup and he walked the rest of the race, smoking cigarettes. I like that story.

It's looking like we're going to buy a treadmill. COSTCO has a really good one on sale right now for a great price. Francisco wants a treadmill and has for a long time. I was not averse to having one, except that I couldn't see where we would put it in the house. He has schemed up a way we can rearrange the living room so that it will fit, and it's a fold-up one anyway, so doesn't need that much room. Now that I know it can fit, I really want it too. I think it will help me with the getting in shape plan.

Another thing directly related to the living room is that we've decided to put in Pergo instead of carpet. We may also put Pergo into our bedroom, which is downstairs adjacent to the living room, and that way we could string out the expense of new flooring a little more. We need new carpet, but if we're only going to get it on the steps, in the upstairs hallway, and in the upstairs bedroom and office, then we can put it off a little. We can Pergo the living room and bedroom separately, so that spreads the expense out even more. I really love Pergo, just so you know, so I am excited at the possibility. If we were going to re-carpet the whole house, then we'd pretty much need to do it all at once, and man, carpet is expensive. I didn't know how expensive before we bought our house, let me tell you. I do love having a house, though. It's a major blessing.

Catie deserves acclaim today for two reasons. Well, she deserves acclaim for many reasons, but let's just do the two for now. 1) She has made me a new diary design, purely out of the goodness of her heart, and she will be uploading it soon, so stay tuned. I really love it, and hopefully you will also. It matches my pencil/pen/highlighter/post-it notes! 2) She has just about convinced me to do "Body For Life" with her. I need to check into it more before I commit, but I'm being very influenced by her enthusiasm. Who wouldn't be?

The Survivor 3 finale is tonight, in case you care, and I found out that it's going to be a three hour show. (A three hour show�.. ) I really can't stay up until 11 if I want to go to the gym in the morning, which I do, so I'll have to tape it and watch it tomorrow. But I just know that I'll hear, somehow, who won, before I get to watch it for myself, and I don't really want that to happen. I'll have to be on Total Survivor Blackout tomorrow, until I can watch it with my own two eyes.

I think that's about all for today. Well, actually there is one other thing, and I had decided not to talk about it, but I just now changed my mind. It involves giving personal-type information--more personal, even, than the foot fungus, and that is why I hesitated. It concerns something I am scared about but don't yet have any concrete reason to be scared, and that is another reason I hesitated. It seems silly to talk about something that may or may not be a thing to be scared about but

[oh for god's sake, get on with it!]

Right. Remember my itchy left nipple? Well it itches again, and it's only that nipple. When I saw the dr. on the 31st, she recommended I get a tube of Monistat, that yeast infection treatment, and use it on my nipple. This did actually seem to help for awhile, but ultimately it hasn't done anything to stop the itching, and I've been using it for 11 days now. If you haven't read my diary before, or for very long, you wouldn't know about the previous nipple ordeal, or that an itchy nipple could indicate the presence of Padget's cells in the skin of the nipple, and when those are present it almost always signals breast cancer. Geez, as if I didn't already get enough Google searches for "itchy nipple"--this will definitely put me over the top. Anyway, earlier today, while my nipple was itching to beat the band, I really worked myself into a panic about it. I ended up locating my new doctor's email address and wrote to ask her about it. Hopefully she will read up about Padget's, because when I went in to see her, she had never heard of it. I haven't received a reply yet, but I didn't expect one until later anyway, and in my email I just asked her what she thought I should do about it--come and see her, or make an appt with the breast doctors at the hospital. I keep thinking that it Can't be the Padget's, but that's because I always think nothing bad will happen to ME. It's always someone else something bad happens to, not ME. Right? And then I remember how I've always been so lucky, and nothing truly bad has ever happened to me, and I think, maybe my number has finally come up. It's all very angsty, no? A little angst seasons the whole stew, so I will quit before it all gets too tasty.

Love to all,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify