Princess GlitterFoot

2002-07-19

Here's the thing: If you haven't yet seen Amelie, you have to run out right now and rent it. Go on--if you're on the West coast you still have time, and believe me; you don't want to wait even one more day. I cannot Tell you how much I loved that movie, I am totally going to buy it. It was funny and touching and beautiful and quirky. Go! I will wait to hear back from you. GO!!

Issue two: I have just seen, in the Restoration Hardware catalogue we got in the mail today, a pen that is also a recording device. I want this pen very much--I am picturing myself at work, speaking into it, saying things like, "Note to self....I really really love this pen". I think it would make things a lot more fun. It's only $20 so I'm thinking I might really buy it.

Also. I don't know that I have previously mentioned my burning desire to be a homicide detective, but I'll tell you; it makes me sad that I'm so lazy. Because if I wasn't lazy--if I had more drive and ambition--I would go ahead and apply to police school. I'm pretty sure I would get accepted, because I did reasonably well in college, and also I'm a woman so I'd have affirmative action going for me. I would go through police school and pay my dues working the night shift and handing out speeding tickets, and then at some point I would become a detective. But see, the part of that scenario I have no patience for is the paying my dues section. If I could go through police school, graduate, and immediately start solving murders, I would apply tomorrow. I love all that forensics shit, but I have less than zero interest in resolving domestic disputes and getting shot in convenience store robberies. And I don't want to work at night, which is also why I'm not a chef--they have to work too late. I could be a pastry chef, but they have to get up too early. I would like a job where, ideally, I could come in around 10:00, put in 4-6 hours of tepid labor, and go home with the feeling of a job well done. Would you happen to be hiring for a position like that?

We went out and saw The Road to Perdition today--it was pretty good. I have always, and will always, love Paul Newman. I know he's not the main star of the movie, but he's the one I was looking at. And this evening we rented The Royal Tenenbaums. I loved it very much, but in a different way from Amelie. Excellent cast and I adore Owen Wilson. He is multi-talented, for sure.

Lots of movies in a 24 hour period, no? We had planned to watch The Royal Tenenbaums tomorrow morning, but when we got home this evening, after renting it, we had a phone message from some Seattle friends we haven't seen in a couple of years. They are in town this weekend and they invited us for breakfast tomorrow morning, and to spend some time with them tomorrow afternoon. I'm excited to see them--they are two of my more favorite people in the world. I will report back re: the visit.

In other news, I cooked dinner tonight with my own two hands. This is a rarity--Francisco generally does the cooking. I made cream of spinach soup (no actual cream involved) with french bread, and shrimp cocktail. The cocktail sauce was purple because it turned out the only ketchup we had in the house is some of that nasty children's ketchup, colored purple. My parents bought it for the Boy when they were staying here with him last month. I know this sounds like a bizarre dinner, but we had a load of spinach that needed to be used. And we had shrimp. And purple ketchup. It was better than it sounds.

I really do feel like a new woman today. I spilled glitter powder all over myself at the mall, but it wasn't actually my fault, though the woman acted like it was my fault. The glitter pot was not firmly in its indentation and it basically leaped right out of there. I wish you could've seen my feet before I showered--they were sparkly as all getout.

I need to go to bed now. Since we're meeting our friends at 10:00 tomorrow morning, that is going to limit my sleeping-in time. This morning I slept until 9:00--it was glorious and probably partially why I feel so good today.

Flex time = good. I'm going to do it again next week.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify