out of the frying pan

2006-06-27

It's hot here. Yesterday it was 102 and this area was the hottest in the country. It made me think a dry heat is not all it's cracked up to be. It's about as hot today, too, and the air conditioner can't keep up. Yesterday I went out on two errands (I was walking) and decided to pop into a dollar store after the first errand, just so I could get some air conditioning. It was a good thing, though, because I wandered around so thoroughly I finally found the film in that store and bought 5 rolls. I've been taking more pictures with film, and I think the dollar store film might give interesting results. I just got some pictures back today that were taken with that expired film roll, and I'm pretty happy with the results. These are my favorites:

zoom

wayside chapel

inedible 370

sharky's tired

Subject change: I completely forgot to tell you we sold our house. It actually happened before we moved, and we got our asking price, which was nice. I was very happy to be selling to those people, too, because we met them and they seemed pretty great, but I'm not so sure about that anymore, because there's been some shady business involving the refrigerator--we didn't leave it and we told them we weren't leaving it, but they snuck it into the house contract and we didn't notice that before signing it. I'm also getting annoyed with the inspection nonsense, but I'm hoping that nitpicking is all from the inspector, whose job it is to nitpick. There were other people who made an offer on the house that was lower, so we didn't take the offer, but I'm starting to think we should maybe have considered it. Too late now. But hey, did you know there was a dead opossum under the front porch? Me neither! Good thing the inspector found that, because it was really causing problems there (NOT).

Sunday was a really fun day, visiting Twyla, Sonny, and Lou in Seattle. We went to their soccer game first, and Francisco and Sharky also got to play, because many people from their team didn't show up (hot that day too). After the game, we went back to their house and they made food--delicious hamburgers, pasta salad, green salad, corn on the cob--and we sat around and talked while Lou played on the slip & slide with her cousin. I got some pictures on Sunday, but they're on black and white film I won't get back until tomorrow or the next day, so I can't show them to you. Anyway, it only takes a couple of hours to drive over there, so it's a very doable day trip. We won't be going back for a little while, though, because they're leaving soon to go pick up Francis in China. Whee!

This is neither here nor there, but I would like to note that cats are the Indiana Joneses of the animal world with their tendencies to wait until a door is almost closed before racing through it. If I'm going into a room and closing the door while Esther or Lucy is nearby, they'll watch me go but not make a move to go with me until the door is nearly closed. It's very charming.

I applied for a job this weekend that was Not the receptionist job I mentioned previously. Lordy lord I hope I don't get it--I would take that as a sign that the Universe still has my back. Cryptic, I know, but I want to wait on talking about this more.

And now I need to go and watch France/Spain, do some cleaning, and email friends--I'm way behind on that.

Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify