Freebird!!

2002-08-21

I've just decided I'm going to carry a lighter with me, everywhere I go, so that I can hold it up, Freebird-style, when anyone says anything I like. It would also come in handy at karaoke.

Next Issue. I think I definitely have a slight allergy to pork. If I eat a small amount of pork it may or may not bother me, but if I eat a big old chop (as I did last Thursday night, and it was delicious), I pay for it in intestinal distress for the next two days, at least. Pork consumption must clearly be monitored.

Have you ever noticed that pralines look like tiny little pieces of fried chicken? Well, they do.

I visited the TX Death Row page again, and on the 8th of this month, a man who killed someone in a robbery when he was 17 was executed. He had an 8th grade education. His last meal included a large cheeseburger, fries with ketchup, fried chicken, and a fried pork sandwich. Executed on 8/14 was a man who killed someone in a robbery when he was 19. He had a 10th grade education. He did not order a last meal. I obviously know very little about these two men, but one would think from their relatively young ages and the spontaneous nature of their crimes that they could probably have been rehabilitated. Trust Texas to execute first and ask questions later.

I wonder if I will receive hate mail from people who are very pro-death penalty now. I am not against the death penalty in all cases. I think there are people who will always present a danger to others (serial killers, for one) and I am not against capital punishment for those individuals. But these young men who were so young when they committed crimes--crimes they Must regret and feel were stupid and wish they could go back and undo--these are the people whose executions make me sad.

Last night Francisco called his sister and left her a message and she called back a few minutes later and I got to talk to her. I found out that she's read some of my diary (totally okay) and better yet, that she's considering starting one of her own. Do you have any idea what a boon this would be to the Diaryland Community? Francisco's sister is one of The Most Interesting and Funny People I have ever known, and I am positive she would write a kickass diary. If she starts one and doesn't mind me reading it, I am totally going to link to her so that y'all can enjoy her as well. No pressure or anything, Little Missy.

I also talked to my own personal sister last night, and I'll let her tell you about her fabulous long weekend in Palo Alto. Suffice it to say I am happy for her and her new long-distance boyfriend.

Francisco and I are getting our house painted next month! This is such a good thing, because our house has been pink since we bought it. We do not like pink but the former owners had just had it repainted pink the day we contracted with them to buy it, so we felt it would be dumb to spend money we didn't have to paint it again, when it had just been painted. But now. Now we get to wipe that pink out of our lives for good. We're going wth a medium grayish-green (the color of course has a dramatic name, but I can't remember it right now), and I think it will be lovely. I will keep you posted.

This day is going very hellishly. This week is freshman move-in week and there are parents dropping in to see us right and left. This would not be a problem if a) they would make a freaking appointment--I hate walk-ins and 2) if they weren't here to ask for more financial aid. Here is a word of advice: When your kids go to college and you receive financial aid (assuming you do), and you figure out you need more? Call the financial aid office sometime during the summer rather than waiting until the last possible damn minute, because it does no one any good to pop in when you're dropping your child off. I am annoyed, and what's more I was already a total cranky bitch when I arrived here this morning, due to bad drivers. Make an appointment and 3) if you come in without an appointment, do not expect me to see you during my lunch hour, because that's not going to work out.

See? Cranky bitch.

My lunch hour is almost over and I can't stretch it today, since there is probably at least one parent waiting to see me right now, so I will bid you adieu and I hope your day is going well.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify