I think the fondue was my favorite

2002-10-28

One of my coworkers has this great kid--he's 10 years old and he is already thinking about colleges. He wants to be a chef, and his mom told me on Friday that he had chosen a cooking school but then he found out it didn't have a hockey team, so it was back to the drawing board. This is still amusing me, off and on.

Speaking of kids, my poor Boy has a bully at school, and it's been stressing him out. This morning, however, he went back to school all excited to try out an idea Francisco had for getting rid of the bully. The bully's name is Chad, and if Chad starts messing with Boy, Boy is going to turn to Chad and say, "Shut up and kiss me, you fool!" Boy thought of many more similar things to say ["you're beautiful when you're angry", "your mouth says no, no, but your eyes say yes, yes", and--the topper--"but Chad; what about the BABY?"] to follow up with, if need be--the goal being to make Chad uncomfortable and force him to choose a new victim. Which, of course, will be bad for the new victim, but bullies Always have to have a victim, and it's every man for himself. Junior high is a dog eat dog world, for sure.

This was a good weekend, I have decided. The last few Mondays I've felt dissatisfied with the past weekend and this morning I was sort of feeling that way too. But I asked myself what would make a better weekend, and I couldn't really think of anything, so I think it's not the weekends that are bad, it's coming back to work on Monday. What we did this weekend included shopping for some gifts on Saturday and having fondue on Sunday. The fondue was great--we actually ate at the table, for once, and put on music and made it sort of special. We laughed and talked and that's where we came up with the Chad idea. We're going to do dinner at the table every Sunday from now on, or at least until it's not fun anymore. Friday night we watched The Buena Vista Social Club...for about 20 minutes. I liked the music and I liked seeing the landscape and the culture, but somehow this movie was just too boring to finish. It has been Mailed Back. We watched a DVD of some Monty Python episodes instead.

Francisco made up a new cocktail yesterday; he called it the Fort Meyers Greyhound. It was mandarin orange vodka and tangerine-grapefruit juice. I recommend it; it is a lovely pink color.

Yesterday I finished the back of my sweater and I started the front today at lunch. This won't be a sweater to cherish, but it's a good learning experience. I've been hoarding a bunch of really cool sweater patterns (free from the web) that I will choose from for my next sweater endeavor.

I can't think of anything else to tell. My brain is this whirl of unformed thoughts and ideas and colors--whoa, man, the colors...trippy. And all this scrambled-egg mishmash is refusing to gel into coherent thought; thus, I have nothing else to tell.

Except that, unlike most people, I really like it when the time changes back, because I like when it gets lighter in the morning. Dark at night? Who cares--I get to light candles.

I hope you have a good night...

Love,

E

PS I ate beef jerky today and it was delicious. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify