he's fleein' the interview!

2002-08-01

My brain is trying very hard to entertain me. Earlier someone from another office called to tell me one of my students had changed an amount on a loan promissory note. She said, "I am going to have to reprint this, because he altered the document". And my brain screamed, "He's fleein' the interview! I don't believe this; he's fleein' the interview!"--a la Fargo. Something about the way she said, "he altered the document" set off the Fargo reaction, and I must say, I was very pleased.

West Wing last night was So Good. I hadn't seen that episode and I thought it was very well done. I cannot wait for next season, and I hope NBC will end up renegotiating Rob Lowe's salary because I love his character and want him to stay in the show.

I've gotten a lot done today. Not as much as I Could've done if I hadn't messed around on the interweb, but still it was a pretty productive day. I can't write much here today because I have a lot more to do in the hour I have left, and I want to leave on time. We're going to Goldmember tonight, and I don't want to make us late. I really love the Austin Powers movies, mostly for Dr. Evil. The Austin Powers character is funny, but Dr. Evil is funnier. "An EVIL veterinarian?"

A quick assy boss story, if I may. A couple days ago he asked me if I was doing flex time this week, and I said yes. He asked me how it was working out for me, and I said it was working out well. He then said, "Aren't I a nice guy?". I did not answer him, because I will Not kiss his ass for allowing us to work four 10 hour days instead of five 8 hour days. The flex time costs him nothing, and at any rate, I've lost track of the 10 hour days I've worked and gotten nothing for the extra time. And the flex time wasn't even his idea! I am so tired of him wanting his ass kissed for every little thing. We have a new person starting Monday and I am going to get 3 minutes alone with her so I can tell her two things: 1) The boss isn't as nice as he wants you to think he is, and do not make the mistake of thinking he is your friend. He will act like your friend but he is always just your boss. and 2) Do not tell him anything personal. He collects personal information from his employees only so he can retail it at the cocktail parties he goes to. See #1. Luckily he was only in the office a couple hours today and I was shut in my office the whole time. I heard he was wearing shorts, but fortunately I didn't have to see his legs. They are pale and hairless and he does not wear socks during the summer. Shorts with no socks might be a good look for some people, but not for my boss--trust me on this.

That's enough bitching for one entry, don'tcha think? I hope y'all have a good weekend. I plan to work on the quilt I'm making for our bed and go grocery shopping for delicious (and healthy) foods. Oh! You will never believe it, but that spaghetti the Boy made last night? It was Extremely good, for real. I think it was better than any spaghetti *I've* ever made. Upstaged by an 11 year-old...

Love and Kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify