a few things

2009-08-28

Hey Internet, how's it hanging? I've been rather busy the last however long it's been since I posted. There's nothing major to tell you, but I can update with a few things. First of all, this morning I talked to someone with the last name Lamp, and now I've got this stuck in my head. It's amusing me.

Secondly, we have a driveway again, and I love it. I took a picture that I'll post [you: hooray!] but basically it's brick pavers arranged in a sort of herringbone pattern, and MAN that German Baptist and his dudes really did a terrific job. I'm happy it looks great and I'm happy it's done, and also I'm happy the city didn't find out we widened the driveway, because I'm pretty sure we needed to get a permit for that. I don't know for sure--we purposely didn't investigate--but I bet we were supposed to. Suck it, city! If you wanted people to get permits you should try approving them without making people first do a whole bunch of shit that doesn't need doing. coughFAILEDGARAGEPROJECTcough.

Alright, so you know how obsessed I am with all things Esther, right? She's been quite unwell in the last couple weeks. She's getting better now and I'm no longer super worried, but for several days I was in despair because she was sick and not getting better and I thought maybe this was IT for her. I took her to the vet last weekend because the antibiotic we were giving her wasn't agreeing with her, and she developed a sore on her lip and a barking cough (after we started the antibiotic). The vet looked at her and palpated her organs and then gave her an antibiotic shot that took the place of the horrible liquid antibiotic. For two more days she seemed very ill but then alluvasudden she perked up and started doing things like running for no reason and eating a lot more food. So we relaxed. I mean, obviously that cat is going to die, and it probably won't be too many more years (if that), but she's the best cat ever, so I want to keep her around if at all possible.

happy on Chris

Today I decided that if I ever have to give a urine sample at my doctor's office, if I have advance notice I will eat a whole bunch of beets first. What lab technician wouldn't enjoy receiving a lovely pink urine sample? I can't think of a single one. Oh, and on the medical front, yesterday I had my yearly (for the second year in a row) mammogram. It was unpleasant, but it's over, and I'm not the slightest bit concerned for the results--I just have a feeling my boobies are in good health. I hope this doesn't turn out to be ironic foreshadowing.

So, this weekend. Tonight I'm going to make some motherfuckin throw pillows y'all! I bought the ingredients for the pillows two weeks ago, so I figure it's time to git er done. Tomorrow I will make some curtains for the garage (shut up, I don't like imagining that people can see me while I'm running on the treadmill--it is surely a gruesome sight) and also I will finally make the tags for the baby garments Jeanne will be selling on her web store. On Sunday I'm thinking about going back to Yakima for some items which will hopefully not include another speeding ticket--I could have used that money for yarn or something. I am all the time thinking about knitting, now that fall is approaching, and also now that Francisco surprise-ordered Boutique Knits for me. That's actually why I'm planning to complete three projects this weekend; so that when my book arrives next week, I can start a knitting project Immediately.

In closing, I would like to tell you about a blog I just started reading, that I'm pretty sure is the Best Blog I Have Ever Read. And I've been wasting time on the internet for a long time now, so I've read a lot of blogs. It's this one, and you should go there right this minute and read the entire thing cover to cover. I've not actually read the entire thing, but I'm working on it. I think I'm about 2/3 through the archives.

Have a great weekend!
Love,
E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify