it's the fever talking...again

2002-09-03

I called in sick today, and I could care less if people think I'm faking. Woke up with a fever of almost 101 and have been feverish off and on all day. Mostly what I've done today is sleep, but I also watched Amelie again (had to take a break in the middle to sleep), and I love that movie but I think I'm done with it now, for a little while.

I need to take a shower but I don't have the strength. Fortunately I showered late yesterday afternoon, so I'm not totally disgusting, but I'm sure not pretty. I feel sorry for Francisco for having to look at me right now, but he's seen me looking worse. I've been sicker than this in our almost 13 years together, for sure.

One thing not related to my grievous illness that I wanted to say was that on Sunday when I was at the mall, I saw So Many pregnant women and women with tiny babies. I'm thinking this might be some kind of post-9/11 baby boom, yes? It creeped me out like you would not believe. And then I passed a couple women with tiny babies, and one woman was saying to the other, "I really prefer Pottery Barn For Kids...". What a heinous thing to say! I desperately want Pottery Barn For Kids to burn down and blow away, because I think it and stores like it are a pox on our society. Why do kids need expensive furniture and bedding and accessories? They don't; they will ruin whatever they have, so it might as well be inexpensive. My cynical self, after overhearing that woman, told me that people might think their priorities have changed after 9/11, but if they're shopping at Pottery Barn For Kids, their priorities have gone nowhere. Only their shopping venues have changed. Now that it is two days later and I have some perspective, I will amend that to say that Most people's priorities have not changed. The other statements stand.

But then I'm not in the best of moods right now. I can barely friggin swallow, and all I've eaten today is a little applesauce for breakfast and some instant mashed potatoes for lunch. Plus some Coke this afternoon, to swallow pills with. This is not my normal diet, which is why I'm not a size 2. Oh, but one thing related to not being a size 2? I've seen a recent Victoria Secret commercial and all I can think about when I see it is, what do those women Eat? Don't tell me it's their metabolism, or I will run into the street screaming about the unfairness of life. I can't imagine getting to, and maintaining, the body size of one of those models. My bones have never stuck out like that in my life.

I'm delirious.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify