Electric Slide classes

2001-12-13

My Employer gave the Holiday Party today, and it was about the same as usual. Bad karaoke, group dances (the Electric Slide, etc), hula hoop competitions; a buffet featuring meatballs, little smokies, pre-masticated chicken drummets, cheese, industrial cookies. The soda was flowing lavishly, so I drank two, count em, two glasses of coke. I went with some coworkers I like, so it was pretty fun, but none of us participated in the karaoke or other activities. I held up my right hand in an earnest gesture and declared that if, god forbid, I am going to be in this crummy job for another year, then it is my promise to learn the Electric Slide in the meantime and do it at the party next year. Apparently there are gaps in my education, because I never learned the Electric Slide, but I can make up for lost time.

Last night Francisco had a fun and successful reading group, and Boy and I enjoyed holing up in the bedroom with our pizza and books and television show. The group stayed until about 9:30, so Francisco missed a lot of West Wing, but I filled him in. Francisco and I went gift shopping for Boy during lunch today. We bought him a cool wall dart set (rubber-tipped darts; no danger), and some books, and Francisco is going to pick up a couple more things tomorrow. We already have a couple things we purchased previously, so after tomorrow, we'll be done. Hopefully Boy will like the darts and the books--they aren't on his list, but maybe he can accept them into his heart anyway. So to speak.

Boy has a cold and I'm getting it, and Francisco woke up this morning with the headache I had Tuesday. I knew our run of good health couldn't last forever, but it would've been nice if it could've held out until after the holidays. Ah well.

The only other thing I have to report is some bad news I got from my mom last night. I called her last night to thank her for sending me her old knitting supplies (so I guess that's one other thing to report, actually--I got a nice package of knitting needles, yarn, and various other interesting things in the mail yesterday). When I talked to her, she told me my brother has relapsed and is back on the heroin. That was shocking news, because he had almost 2 full years clean, and I thought he was doing pretty well. So it's back to detox and a treatment center, and now I have to tell Boy that his dad is back on smack and will not be able to meet up with us in Portland (when we're in Seattle we're going to drive to Portland for a day) with his grandma and grandpa and other aunt. I know that lying to Boy is an option--I could make up some reason why his dad can't make it to Portland--but I'm not going to do it. I think it's better for him to know the truth, and to know that he can trust us to tell him the truth, than to try and protect him from this kind of thing. I'm not sure how he's going to take the news; I have no clue. I think he will be okay, but I don't know if it will surprise him or what.

In case you don't know me, my spouse and I are guardians for our nephew, my brother's son. I know the previous paragraph makes it sound like my brother is the father of my child, and that's just too icky to let stand without explanation.

I hope Lex is voted out of Survivor tonight. My plans for tonight include watching Survivor and working on The Blanket, and hopefully nothing else will come up. I enjoy quiet weekday evenings; they make up for daytime stress.

Okay, I'm going home now.

Love to all,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify