Antibiotics, as it turns out, are not the fifth food group

2010-11-15

AKA How Eva got her comeuppance.

I've done a lot of whining since I got sick with my mystery digestive infection about how stingy doctors have gotten with antibiotics, but I won't be doing that anymore. The Ciprofloxacin Doctor had me try out has effing Wrecked me. I took a grand total of 6 pills (of 20 prescribed) before quitting, and still the side effects continue. Abdominal pain, headaches, muscle pain, foggy headedness, weakness, blah blah blah and I've lost 5 pounds in the last 4 days. I read what the internet has to say about Cipro and the whole Fluoroquinolone drug class, and it's frightening. Some people have side effects for years and years, and I've had to stop reading that stuff because I just end up all terrified and shit.

I got an appointment with Doctor this morning and talked with him about the side effects. He ordered blood tests to check my pancreas, liver, and kidney function, as well as some other stuff, and said I just need to wait it out. I actually feel better today than I've been feeling, so hopefully, HOPEFULLY, I'm getting over it. I hope I hear back about the tests today (if not today, then tomorrow) because if my organs are okay, I'll be able to stop worrying so much.

Anyway, it's not been the greatest birthday ever, but I managed to get myself to the Universalist Unitarian church yesterday, and it was worth braving it. I'll be going back again, for sure.

Love,
E

PS Seriously, I beseech you not to take Cipro or any of that drug class. I'm sure loads of people don't have side effects, but you can't know in advance if you're going to have them and it's not worth the risk. I've never had a reaction like this to any medicine, so I assumed I'd be fine, but WOW I'm really not. Be careful!!!

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify