deodorant dufus

2002-11-25

My sister and I have talked a couple times in the last week, and she mentioned my parents' advent calendar, and now we both want to make one just like it. It's different than the other advent calendars people are making like crazy right now. This one is like a medium-size felt banner, with a green felt xmas tree at the top, and a blank calendar (5 rows of 7 squares) below the tree, outlined in rickrack. The way to use this calendar is to make 25 "ornaments" out of felt or xmas charms or really whatever you want, and attach them to the calendar squares with straight pins, one per each day leading up to xmas. Then every day you hang that day's ornament on the felt tree, with the straight pins. There were no chocolate surprises or little gifts like the advent calendars have nowadays, not that there's anything wrong with that. But we loved it; it was special. So now I think I'm going to make a trip to the fabric store for some felt and stuff to make ornaments, because Boy has talked about my parents' advent calendar, and I think he should have something special like that.

My sister and I also talked about the unbelievably gorgeous ring she and her Man sent me for my birthday. Seriously, this ring knocks me out. It sparkles like crazy and is beautiful colors. I wore it Saturday night when my friends came over, and they were a little hypnotized by it. Of course it could've been the alcohol, but I think it was the ring.

Saturday night was fun. My 2 friends showed up and each brought a bottle of red wine. I'd laid in a 6 pack of beer as well and we drank the beer and both their bottles of wine, and another bottle of wine that I had. We were good and plastered. I made us all load up on water and made sure they were okay to drive before I let them go. We had a good dinner and sat and talked for a long time, and laughed, and Boy enjoyed it too until he wearied of talking and went to watch tv. One of my friends left at about 11:30, and the other about half an hour after that. We were watching the Osbournes marathon; it was compelling--I'm looking forward to the new season, starting this Tuesday already. But anyway, if you have the New Basics cookbook, I recommend the polenta, hot italian sausage, and tomato sauce casserole thingy; it is very very good.

Sunday I was a little hungover, but not the kind of headache/sick stomach hangover. This was the tired and confused hangover, and I just made sure to keep drinking water, and I also took some vitamins. Boy and I went to Target and it was too crowded and bright to be actually Fun, but we got most of what we were looking for. I got confused in the deodorant aisle again (happens every time) because there's just too many to choose from. The hangover didn't help. The two main things we got at Target were a mattress pad for Boy (he's been complaining his mattress is too hard) and a comforter cover for me and Francisco. I was going to make a cover for the comforter out of 2 flat sheets, but the ready-made cover cost less, so why bother? I got covetous in the office supply area, because Target has the Best notebooks--all groovy designs and pretty colors. I wanted to buy one of each, but what would I do with them? Probably just give them away as stocking stuffers, which isn't a bad idea, so maybe I'll make another trip out there soon.

This morning I saw something scroll by on CNN that I thought was funny. It said, "Bush twins turn 21; Bush family at TX ranch for Thanksgiving". I know this was 2 separate statements, but in my mind they were tied together, and at any rate I'll bet they're All thankful there won't be any more underage drinking scandals with those girls.

Boy and I listened to This American Life on NPR yesterday, and he said it was really good. Later when he was putting his clean clothes away in his room he yelled down to ask what station NPR is on, and I told him, and a few minutes later I went upstairs to find him listening to the Thistle and Shamrock. I have never been so proud. I hope it Takes.

Francisco will be presenting his paper at his conference this afternoon, pretty soon I think, and I'm all nervous for him. The thing they do at this conference is, people present papers, and then other people argue with them. So people will be arguing with Francisco and I just hope he's had enough sleep to be at his mental peak. I'm going to be thinking about him the rest of the afternoon and evening, until he calls. He comes home tomorrow, and I'm so glad. We've missed him very much.

Well, I'm not at MY mental peak today, and I've got a few things to work on, so bye for now, and have a good day.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify